Gran Piemonte 2018

Latest News from the Race

Past Winners

Start List

The Italian one-day semi-Classic Gran Piemonte is back after a one-year hiatus. The 1.HC race has had an on-again, off-again relationship with the calendar throughout it's history, but the 101st edition is set for Thursday, October 11.

The fist edition of the race, then called the Giro del Piemonte, was run in 1906 and then again in 1907. The race skipped 1909 but then was back for a yearly run before World War II interrupted it again in 1943 and 1944. The race was cancelled again in 1968, 1975, 1976, 2000, 2007, 2013, 2014 and then again last year, most often because of sponsor issues.

The 2018 edition, which covers 191km from Racconici to Stupinigi, will once again serve as the final tune-up for the month's top prize, the final Monument of the year at Il Lombardia two days later.

As such, the field ready to toe the start line is impressive. Defending champion Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) is out with injury and won't be back in 2018, but Bahrain-Merida has Sonny Colbrelli to contest any sprint finish.

World Champion Alejandro Valverde will lead Movistar, while BMC Racing has danger man Greg Van Avermaet and Italian Allessandro de Marchi, who recently won the Giro dell'Emilia.

Bora-Hansgrohe is binging Rafal Majka to the line, while Israel Cycling Academy will back Ben Hermans and Ruben Plaza. Lotto Soudal features Belgians Tim Wellens and Tiesj Benoot. Stephen Cummings will carry the Dimension Data banner.

EF Education First-Drapac has Sacha Modolo for a sprint finish, while Katusha-Alpecin features Illnur Zakarin and Maxim BelkovEgan Bernal is back n action with Team Sky, which also has David de la Cruz and Ian Stannard


2016 Top 10

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek-Segafredo4:25:21
2Fernando Gaviria (Col) Etixx-QuickStepRow 1 - Cell 2
3Daniele Bennati (Ita) Tinkoff TeamRow 2 - Cell 2
4Juan Jose Lobato (Spa) Movistar TeamRow 3 - Cell 2
5Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani CSFRow 4 - Cell 2
6Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing TeamRow 5 - Cell 2
7Ben Swift (GBr) Team SkyRow 6 - Cell 2
8Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx-QuickStepRow 7 - Cell 2
9Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Wilier Triestina-SoutheastRow 8 - Cell 2
10Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Cannondale-DrapacRow 9 - Cell 2


Related Features