Gent - Wevelgem 2017

Latest News from the Race

Not since 1981 had a rider won Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, E3 Harelbeke and Gent-Wevelgem in the same season until Greg Van Avermaet matched the feats of Jan Raas by holding off Orica-Scott's Jens Keukeleire in a sprint finish. World champion Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) rounded out the podium.

The Olympic champion was in the thick of the action all day long before making the winning move in the closing kilometres. He was joined by Keukeleire, Sagan, Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors), and Soren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb) however the five-man group struggled to co-operate. Sensing the moment, Van Avermaet and Keukeleire made their move which they held to the line.

Despite slowing up in the final kilometre for the tactical sprint, it came down to the two-man sprint with Van Avermaet continuing his winning start to the season. The BMC rider will start the Tour of Flanders as the favourite as he acknowledged post race.

Read more:

Click here to subscribe to the Cyclingnews video channel.

2017 Gent-Wevelgem Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team5:39:05
2Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica-ScottRow 1 - Cell 2
3Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe0:00:06
4Niki Terpstra (Ned) Quick-Step FloorsRow 3 - Cell 2
5John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek-SegafredoRow 4 - Cell 2
6Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick-Step FloorsRow 5 - Cell 2
7Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto SoudalRow 6 - Cell 2
8Michael Matthews (Aus) Team SunwebRow 7 - Cell 2
9Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step FloorsRow 8 - Cell 2
10Sacha Modolo (Ita) Team UAE EmiratesRow 9 - Cell 2

2016 Gent-Wevelgem2015 Gent-Wevelgem | 2014 Gent-Wevelgem

Top News on the Race