De Brabantse Pijl - La Flèche Brabançonne 2020

Latest News from the Race

Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) gets the better of Sunweb's Michael Matthews and Deceuninck-QuickStep's Julian Alaphilippe to win the 2019 Brabantse Pijl

(Image credit: Bettini Photo)

The 60th edition of De Brabantse Pijl for men will take place on a new fall date, Wednesday, October 7, and in a lead-off position for the four Flanders Classics races on the revised fall cycling calendar. There are no changes with the start in Leuven, the finish in Overijse, with climbs of Hagaard, Hertstraat, Holstheide and Schavei.

There is a slightly shorter route than in past years, 184km in 2020, due to the quick succession of these races, from October 7 to 18. Of the 26 climbs on tap for the men, the Moskesstraat will take the place of the Ijskelderlaan this year. This year will feature one circuit in and round Beersel, which will include the ascent of the Bruine Put, Menisberg and Lotsestraat.

Defending champion Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) returns with strong form, having won the Dutch national championship and recent BinckBank Tour, and finished sixth in his first Liège-Bastogne-Liège. He'll get support from Belgian national champion Dries De Bondt and 2016 Brabantse Pijl winner Petr Vakoč.

The two riders from last year's podium are back to contend for top honors, reigning world champion  Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep) and Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal). Alaphilippe, looking for his first victory in Overijse, is expected to receive support by Dries Devenyns and Zdeněk Štybar. Wellens, on the other hand, is looking for a second victory at Overijse, with the support of John Degenkolb. 

Former winner from 2017 Sonny Colbrelli will be on the start line for Bahrain - McLaren, as well as Tour de France stage winner Lennard Kämna for Bora-Hansgrohe.