Santiago Buitrago named as Bahrain Victorious leader for Tour de France

Santiago Buitrago
Santiago Buitrago at the Criterium du Dauphine (Image credit: Getty Images)

Bahrain Victorious have named debutant Santiago Buitrago as their general classification leader for the Tour de France. The Colombian will be flanked by an experienced team that includes Pello Bilbao, Wout Poels and Matej Mohorič, who all won stages at last year’s Tour.

Jack Haig returns for his fifth Tour appearance, while Fred Wright, Nikias Arndt and sprinter Phil Bauhaus also feature in the line-up.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.