New president for Cycling New Zealand

Cycling New Zealand has elected a new president at its 73rd annual general meeting held in Invercargill over the weekend, which coincided with the opening of the new ILT indoor velodrome. Mark Ireland, from Mt Maunganui, has been named for the top job, while Wayne Hudson, who had been president since 2002, will remain on the Cycling New Zealand Council as immediate past president. Hudson announced 12 months ago that he would stand down at this year's AGM.

As well as the election, the Malayan Cup was awarded to Stephen Canny, Chairman of Cycling Southland, for his vision, leadership and dedication to the opening of New Zealand's first indoor velodrome. The Malayan Cup was originally awarded to a successful NZ representative team that included among others the great Warrick Dalton and Ron Ulmer (Sarah's grandfather), and has been subsequently presented each year since 1959 in recognition of outstanding service to the Sport. Sarah Ulmer won the award in 2005.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1