TechPowered By

More tech

GVA Trofee - G.P. Sven Nys 2012

Date range:
January 1, 2012

January 01, Elite Men:

Nys wins ahead of Pauwels, Wellens & Stybar

Cycling News
January 01, 2012, 15:44 GMT,
January 01, 2012, 17:48 GMT

Page secures a top ten place for USA

Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet) wins his eponymous race

Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet) wins his eponymous race

view thumbnail gallery

Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet) beat all his main rivals in a muddy edition of the GP Sven Nys, in his hometown Baal. In his new light-green kit Nys ploughed away from his last rival Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Revor) in the second of seven laps and he completed a long solo ride in front of his home crowd. It was Nys’ eleventh win in his home race.

“For an entire hour I had goose bumps. It’s been a few years since I dominated like this but I came out of the Christmas week very well and the whole town was standing behind me, united as one,” Nys said on tv-channel Sporza.

After taking it easy in the final laps Nys had a 45 second gap on a well-performing Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Revor). The latter extended his lead over world champion Zdenek Stybar (Omega Pharma-Quickstep) in the Gazet van Antwerpen Trophy during this sixth round on New Year’s Day.

“I didn’t expect to finish ahead of Stybar on a course like this,” Pauwels said. Bart Wellens (Telenet-Fidea) was the surprising name on the podium since top guns Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) and Stybar performed below par in Baal. The latter showed up in Baal with a new pink bike from Specialized, a pink helmet and the new team kit from Omega Pharma-Quickstep. Stybar had a super-fast start, then dropped back into eighth position halfway in race but the Czech fought back to finish fourth on the line.

“Maybe I started too fast but I was motivated to show off my new shirt and bike. Then I lost a lot of ground in two laps,” Stybar said.

The battle for second place was the most interesting to watch. Vantornout, Pauwels, Wellens and Albert rode together in the first chase group until the fifth lap. Then Albert cracked, Wellens punctured out of the group and during the penultimate lap Vantornout lost ground too. The tall Belgian struggled while running and he was passed by Wellens.

“Before that I flatted but tried to follow Pauwels and Vantornout which cost a lot of energy; I shouldn’t have done that,” Wellens said.

“Suddenly I saw Vantornout standing there and I realized that everybody can run into problems.”

Stybar profited from Albert and Vantornout during their difficult last laps and he blasted past them. “In the end I started going better and suddenly I realized that fourth place was still an option so I went full gas for that,” Stybar said.

One by one the mud-clad riders rolled towards the finish line. Rob Peeters (Telenet-Fidea) was fifth ahead of Albert, Sven Vanthourenhout (Landbouwkrediet), Bart Aernouts (Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team). Vantornout eventually came home in a disappointing ninth place. Jonathan Page (Planetbike) showed off his best performance of the season. By sprinting ahead of Martin Zlamalik (KDL-Trans) at the finish he completed the top-10 in Baal. In one week he claimed his second top-10 result in a C1-race this season and his first top-10 in a race that is part of one of the major series.

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet 1:00:12  
2 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:00:46  
3 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea 0:01:10  
4 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Quickstep Cycling Team 0:01:30  
5 Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea 0:01:40  
6 Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus 0:01:46  
7 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Landbouwkrediet 0:01:50  
8 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team 0:02:16  
9 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:02:39  
10 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike-Blue Bicycles 0:02:44  
11 Martin Zlamalik (Cze) Landbouwkrediet - KDL 0:02:49  
12 Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept 0:03:22  
13 Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) Team AA 0:03:28  
14 Thijs Al (Ned) Team AA 0:03:42  
15 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus    
16 Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco 0:04:30  
17 Patrick Gaudy (Bel) Barracuda 0:04:42  
18 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus 0:05:27  
19 Kevin Cant (Bel) Van Goethem 0:05:35  
20 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) 0:05:43  
21 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team 0:06:00  
22 Ben Berden (Bel) Ops Ale-Stoemper 0:06:45  
23 (-1 lap) Stijn Huys (Bel) Orange Babies    
24 Bart Hofman (Bel)    
25 Geert Wellens (Bel)    
26 (-2 laps) Jimmy Tielens (Bel) Team DW Bikes    
27 Jo Pirotte (Bel)    
28 Bart Verschueren (Bel) KDL-Landbouwkrediet    
29 (-3 laps) Craig Richey (Can) Renner Custom - Raleigh    
30 (-4 laps) Jeremy Durrin (USA) J.A.M. Fund - NCC    
31 (-5 laps) Tom Dernies (Bel)    
32 Wouter Been (Ned) WTOS Delft    
DNF Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team    
DNF Joeri Adams (Bel) Telenet-Fidea    
DNF Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet    
DNF Radomir Simunek (Cze) BKCP-Powerplus    
DNF Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Revor    
DNF Marco Bianco (Ita) L´Arcobaleno Carraro Team    
DNF Darryn Medhurst (USA)    
DNF Mike Thielemans (Bel)    
DNF Twan Van Den Brand (Ned) WV Schijndel    
DNF John Spruyt (Bel)    
Intermediate sprint
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet 3  pts
2 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 2  
3 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Quickstep Cycling Team 1  
Fastest lap
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet 0:08:27  
2 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:08:29  
3 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Quickstep Cycling Team 0:08:39  
GVA Trofee classification after 6 rounds
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 135  pts
2 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Quickstep Cycling Team 119  
3 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet 107  
4 Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus 98  
5 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea 85  
6 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea 73  
7 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team 72  
8 Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea 67  
9 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 60  
10 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Landbouwkrediet 58  
11 Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team 52  
12 Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) Team AA 59  
13 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus 44  
14 Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco 38  
15 Joeri Adams (Bel) Telenet-Fidea 36  
16 Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team 31  
17 Martin Zlamalik (Cze) Landbouwkrediet - KDL 28  
18 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike-Blue Bicycles 24  
19 Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet 23  
20 Radomir Simunek (Cze) BKCP-Powerplus 20  
21 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team 15  
22 Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank 14  
23 Marcel Meisen (Ger) Eddy Merckx-Indeland 13  
24 Mitchell Huenders (Ned) Ruiter Dakkapellen Wielerteam    
24 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus    
24 Thijs Al (Ned) Team AA 12  pts
24 Aurelien Duval (Fra) U.V.Aube 11  
24 Patrick Gaudy (Bel) Barracuda 8  
24 Robert Gavenda (Svk) Landbouwkrediet - KDL 7  
24 Tom Van Den Bosch (Bel) Team AA 5  
24 Dave De Cleyn (Bel)    
24 Kevin Cant (Bel) Van Goethem 4  pts
24 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Revor    
24 Niels Wubben (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off-Road Team 3  pts
24 Simon Zahner (Swi) BMC Racing Team    
24 Sascha Weber (Ger)    
24 Egoitz Murgoitio (Spa) 2  pts
24 Marco Bianco (Ita) L´Arcobaleno Carraro Team    
24 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) 1  
Sprint classification
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Quickstep Cycling Team 10  pts
2 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet 8  
3 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 6  
4 Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus    
5 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea 3  pts
6 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor    
7 Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank 2  pts
8 Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea 1