TechPowered By

More tech

Dutch Road Championships 2010

Date range:
June 23 - July 30, 2010

June 27, Elite men's road race: Oudenbosch - Oudenbosch

Terpstra takes Dutch title

Susan Westemeyer
June 27, 2010, 15:38 BST,
June 27, 2010, 18:42 BST

Milram rider beats Weening and Boom

Niki Terpstra of Team Milram overcame the strength of the Rabobank team to take the men's Elite Netherlands national road title on Sunday. He outsprinted Rabobank's Pieter Weening, with Lars Boom finishing third.

Milram had only three riders in the race and knew it would be tough to go up against the 19 from Rabobank, a team which had won the title the last four years.   Weening's and Boom's anger and frustration were evident on the podium.

Terpstra and Weening got away on the final lap of the circuit course, with Boom and last year's winner Koos Moerenhout giving chase.

With 30km to go, there were four Rabo riders in the eight-man leading group.  Weening attacked out of the group and Terpstra went with him. Going into the finale, Boom and Moorenhout were very close behind them.  But insead of waiting for his teammates, Weening attacked again.  “A beginner's mistake,” said  Rabobank directeur sportif Adri Van Houwelingen.

Terpstra went with him and won the two-man sprint. “I had great confidence that I was fastest,” he said.  “The sprint final was easier than I expected.''

The 26-year-old said he was “very happy, very proud” over his win, and looked forward to wearing his new jersey in the Tour de France.  “So gorgeous, one year long to show you are the best in the country."

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Niki Terpstra (Team Milram) 5:05:26  
2 Pieter Weening (Rabobank) 0:00:03  
3 Lars Boom (Rabobank) 0:00:08  
4 Koos Moerenhout (Rabobank) 0:00:18  
5 Tom Veelers (Skil Shimano) 0:00:24  
6 Martijn Maaskant (Garmin-Transitions)    
7 Stefan van Dijk (Willems Verandas)    
8 Dirk Bellemakers (Landbouwkrediet)    
9 Koen de Kort (Skil Shimano)    
10 Huub Duyn (Team Netapp)    
11 Arnoud van Groen (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)    
12 Joost Posthuma (Rabobank)    
13 Reinier Honig (Acqua&Sapone- D'Angelo&Antenucci)    
14 Luc Hagenaars (Kuota-Indeland)    
15 Michiel Elijzen (Omega-Pharma Lotto)    
16 Maarten de Jonge (Cyclingteam Jo Piels)    
17 Joost van Leijen (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)    
18 Karsten Kroon (BMC racing team)    
19 Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank)    
20 Bauke Mollema (Rabobank)    
21 Robert Gesink (Rabobank)    
22 Eric van de Meent (Qin Cycling Team)    
23 Rikke Dijkxhoorn (Van Vliet-EBH Elshof)    
24 Pim de Beer (Cyclingteam Jo Piels)    
25 Tom Stamsnijder (Rabobank)    
26 Tom Relou (Cyclingteam Jo Piels)    
27 Bart van Haaren (Van Vliet-EBH Elshof)    
28 Theo Bos (Cervélo Test Team)    
29 Emmanuel van Ruitenbeek (Kuota-Indeland)    
30 Wout Poels (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)    
31 Servais Knaven (Team Milram)    
32 Rob Ruygh (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)    
33 Bram Tankink (Rabobank)    
34 Addy Engels (Quickstep)    
35 Steven Kruijswijk (Rabobank)    
36 Bram Schmitz (Van Vliet-EBH Elshof)    
37 Sander Oostlander (Van Vliet-EBH Elshof)    
38 Alain van der Velde (Qin Cycling Team)    
39 Floris Goesinnen (Skil Shimano) 0:00:46  
40 Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)    
41 Sebastian Langeveld (Rabobank)    
42 Thomas Berkhout (Van Vliet-EBH Elshof) 0:00:53  
43 Stefan Cohnen (Differdange)    
44 Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)    
45 Robin Chaigneau (Skil Shimano)    
46 Dennis van Winden (Rabobank)    
47 Roy Curvers (Skil Shimano)    
48 Kenny van Hummel (Skil Shimano)    
49 Jos van Emden (Rabobank)    
50 Tom Leezer (Rabobank)    
51 Thijs van Amerongen (AA Drink cycling team)    
52 Piet Rooijakkers (Skil Shimano)    
53 Albert Timmer (Skil Shimano)    
54 Cornelius van Ooijen (Cyclingteam Jo Piels)    
55 Peter Schulting (Cyclingteam Jo Piels)    
DNF Rick Flens (Rabobank)    
DNF Kai Reus (Rabobank)    
DNF Wim Stroetinga (Team Milram)    
DNS Hans Dekkers (Landbouwkrediet)    
DNF Job Vissers (Skil Shimano)    
DNF Wouter Mol (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)    
DNF Jens Mouris (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)    
DNF Bobbie Traksel (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)    
DNS Michel Kreder (Garmin-Transitions)    
DNS Ricardo van der Velde (Garmin-Transitions)    
DNF Gerben Lowik (Omega-Pharma Lotto)    
DNF Hans Bloks (Cyclingteam Jo Piels)    
DNF Marco Bos (Cyclingteam Jo Piels)    
DNF Thom van Dulmen (Cyclingteam Jo Piels)    
DNF Sierk-Jan de Haan (Cyclingteam Jo Piels)    
DNF Tjarco Cuppens (Differdange)    
DNS Leon van Bon (Marco Polo)    
DNF Joop de Gans (Palmans-Cras)    
DNS Frank van Kuik (Qin Cycling Team)    
DNS Gerben de Knegt (Rabobank)    
DNF Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma sport-Specialized)    
DNF Thomas Rabou (Team Type 1)    
DNF Martijn Verschoor (Team Type 1)    
DNF Fred Rompelberg (Rompelberg fietsvakanties)    
DNS Tim Veldt (Schijf)    
DNS Yondi Schmidt (Schmidt Zeevis)    
DNF Thijs Al (AA Drink cycling team)    
DNS Eddy van IJzendoorn (AA Drink cycling team)    
DNF Danny Stam (AA Drink cycling team)    
DNF Peter Schep (Koga Creditforce)