Van Avermaet still top of WorldTour rankings

Valverde closes in on BMC rider after fourth Liege victory

Alejandro Valverde's fourth Liege-Bastogne-Liege victory lifted the Movistar rider into second place in the WorldTour standings although it's Greg Van Avermaet who remains well out in front on 2528 points. Valverde picked up 500 points for his Liege win, to go with the 400 points from his La Fleche Wallonne victory, to jump in front of Amstel Gold Race winner Philippe Gilbert on 1995 points.

Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) also moved up the individual standings due to his third place in Liege and sits third on 1701 points. Following his best showing to date at the cobbles classics, capped off with a debut monument victory, Van Avermaet's 12th place at Amstel Gold Race and 11th at Liege saw the Belgian only marginally add to his tally.

At the pointy end of the individual points tally, Jon Izaguirre (Bahrain-Merida) and Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) were the biggest movers after Liege. Izaguirre jumped from 17th to ninth on 841 points while Matthews made the move from 38 to 15 and now has 661 points to his name.

After the first 18 WorldTour events of the 2017 season, 331 riders have scored points with Van Avermaet the only man with more than 2000 to his name. Of the 18 WorldTour teams, BMC Racing has the greatest spread with 25 of its riders scoring points so far this season. The American teams sit a distant second in the team rankings on 5065 points to QuickStep-Floors' tally of 7107.

At the bottom of the team rankings is Astana with 1188 points. Dimension Data are the closest team on 1353 points while UAE Team Emirates are 16th on 1570 points.

The next WorldTour race on the calendar is the Tour de Romandie (April 25–30) with 500 points for the overall winner. 

WorldTour rankings - April 24

#Rider Name (Country) Team 
1Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team2528 pts
2Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Movistar Team1995 
3Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky1701 
4Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors1670 
5Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora–Hansgrohe1245 
6Dan Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors1215 
7Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky1152 
8Alberto Contador (Esp) Trek–Segafredo1143 
9Ion Izagirre (Esp) Bahrain–Merida841 
10Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team812 
11Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors785 
12Michael Albasini (Sui) Orica–Scott715 
13John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek–Segafredo685 
14Nathan Haas (Aus) Team Dimension Data683 
15Michael Matthews (Aus) Team Sunweb661 
16Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team660 
17Niki Terpstra (Ned) Quick-Step Floors642 
18Zdenek Štybar (Cze) Quick-Step Floors635 
19Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team620 
20Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale600 
21Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica–Scott577 
22Primož Roglic (Slo) LottoNL–Jumbo570 
23Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb561 
24Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha–Alpecin551 
25Arnaud Démare (Fra) FDJ503 
#Rider Name (Country) Team 
1Quick-Step Floors7107 pts
2BMC Racing Team5065 
4Team Sky4127 
5Movistar Team4113 
8Team Sunweb2322 
11Team Katusha–Alpecin1795 
14AG2R La Mondiale1682 
16UAE Team Emirates1570 
18Team Dimension Data1188 

Related Articles

Back to top