Tour of Britain announces 2015 teams

Nine WorldTour squads headline strongest line-up in the UK this year

The Aviva Tour of Britain today announced the 20 teams that will compete in the eight-day race that runs from September 6 through September 13.

Nine WorldTour teams will headline the biggest line-up to race in the UK this year, including Cannondale-Garmin, which won the 2014 Tour of Britain with Dylan Van Baarle, and the Etixx Quick-Step team of Mark Cavendish and World Champion Michal Kwiatkowski. Tour de France winner Chris Froome’s Team Sky will carry the banner for Great Britain.

BMC Racing, IAM Cycling, Lotto Soudal, Movistar, LottoNL-Jumbo and Tinkoff-Saxo round out the WorldTour teams for the 2.HC event.

Tour of Britain race director Mick Bennett designed the longest, most difficult route in the race’s history in hopes of attracting some of the biggest names in cycling as they build up to the World Championships in Richmond, Virginia. The teams will field six-rider squads in Beaumaris on Anglesey for Stage 1.

Bennet said this is undoubtedly the strongest line-up of teams to appear in the race since it was revived in 2004.

"The Aviva Tour of Britain presents a fantastic opportunity for British fans to see what will be the best line-up of teams and riders to race in this country this year,” he said. “In 2014 we saw Michal Kwiatkowski, Sir Bradley Wiggins and the BMC Racing Team all go on to win World titles immediately after the race and are sure that this year's Tour will provide an equal platform for riders going on to target the World Championships.”

MTN-Qhubeka, which won a stage at this year’s Tour de France with Stephen Cummings and claimed the polka dot jersey for several stages with Daniel Teklehaimanot, will headline the Pro Continental ranks, which also include Cult Energy and Novo Nordisk.

Great Britain will have a strong contingent of Continental teams as well, including 2015 Pearl Izumi Tour Series Champions Madison Genesis and last year's Elite Road Series winning squad Team Raleigh GAC. Other British Continental teams in the race include ONE Pro Cycling, co-owned by former England cricketer Matt Prior, and Team WIGGINS, the personal team of UCI Hour Record holder Bradley Wiggins. The host country’s national team will also be competing.

"Today's announcement confirms the Tour of Britain as a world-leading event in its class and sets a high standard for cycle sport in this country,” said Jonny Clay, British Cycling director of cycle sport and membership. "Sport fans across England, Scotland and Wales can now look forward to seeing some of the best teams in the world on their local roads as the Tour of Britain provides a fantastic finale to the British sporting summer.”

UCI WorldTeams

• BMC Racing (USA)
• Etixx Quick-Step (Belgium)
• IAM Cycling (Switzerland)
• Lotto Soudal (Belgium)
• Movistar Team (Spain)
• Team Cannondale – Garmin (USA)
• Team Lotto NL Jumbo (Netherlands)
• Team Sky (Great Britain)
• Tinkoff – Saxo (Russia)

UCI Pro Continental teams

• Cult Energy Pro Cycling (Denmark)
• MTN Qhubeka (South Africa)
• Team Novo Nordisk (USA)

UCI Continental teams

• An Post Chain Reaction (Ireland)
• JLT Condor presented by Mavic (Great Britain)
• Madison Genesis (Great Britain)
• NFTO (Great Britain)
• ONE Pro Cycling (Great Britain)
• Team Raleigh GAC (Great Britain)
• Team WIGGINS (Great Britain)

National Team

• Great Britain Cycling Team


Related Articles

Back to top