Mancebo leads men’s NRC with one event remaining

Small wraps up the NRC with Elk Grove win

Thompson Bucks County Classic set to decide men’s NRC rankings

Francisco Mancebo (Competitive Cyclist Racing Team) is the current leader in the men’s NRC standing with just one event remaining. The Thompson Bucks County Classic is the final race of the NRC season, and will be held September 15-`6. Second place in the standings, Rory Sutherland (UnitedHealthcare,) trails Mancebo by a significant margin and will be unlikely to topple the Spaniard.

Mancebo’s Competitive Cyclist Team also leads the team’s standings over Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies and Bissell Cycling. The Thompson Bucks two-day race will be the deciding event before the individual and team classification winners are announced. Saturday will see the men tackle a difficult 157km race with the day’s winner having to defend their lead in Sunday’s criterium.

Small and Optum take the women’s NRC title

Carmen Small (Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies) has wrapped up the women’s NRC series after taking the overall victory at the Cascade Cycling Classic while her teammate Jade Wilcoxson helped clinch the women’s team classification by capturing two of the three stages at the recent Tour of Elk Grove.

Small and Wilcoxson’s Optum team was finished with a commanding lead over second place Exergy Twenty12 who despite their place in the team’s classification, could only manage a sixth place in the individual ranking with the recent Olympic time trial champion Kristin Armstrong. It was a fitting conclusion for Wilcoxson and her teammates to win the team classification after a dominant performance at Elk Grove.

Men's individual standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Francisco Mancebo (Spa) Competitive Cyclist Racing Team918 pts
2Rory Sutherland (Aus) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling445 
3Tom Zirbel (USA) Team Optum P/B Kelly Benefit Strategies442 
4Chad Beyer (USA) Competitive Cyclist Racing Team404 
5Phillip Gaimon (USA) Kenda 5 Hour Energy P/B Geargrinder381 
6Joe Dombrowski (USA) Bontrager Livestrong Team372 
7Lawson Craddock (USA) Bontrager Livestrong Team371 
8Benjamin Jacques-Maynes (USA) Bissell Cycling367 
9Andrew Jacques-Maynes (USA) Kenda 5 Hour Energy P/B Geargrinder281 
10Sebastian Salas (Can) Team Optum P/B Kelly Benefit Strategies271 
11Jesse Anthony (USA) Team Optum P/B Kelly Benefit Strategies235 
12Andres Diaz (Col) Team Exergy227 
13Luis Romero (Cub) Jamis/Sutter Home224 
14Nathaniel English (USA) Kenda 5 Hour Energy P/B Geargrinder221 
15Jeremy Vennell (NZl) Bissell Cycling216 
16Evan Huffman (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized207 
17Christopher Baldwin (USA) Bissell Cycling195 
18Patrick Bevin (NZl) Bissell Cycling195 
19Coulton Hartick (USA) Athletix Cycling Benefiting Globalbike194 
20Tyler Wren (USA) Jamis/Sutter Home190 
21Christiaan Kriek (RSA) Jelly Belly Cycling Team165 
22Matt Cooke (USA) Team Exergy159 
23Alejandro Borrajo (Arg) Jamis/Sutter Home155 
24Cesar Grajales (Col) Competitive Cyclist Racing Team154 
25Morgan Schmitt (USA) Team Exergy153 
Final Women's individual standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Carmen Small (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies1010 pts
2Alison Powers (USA) NOW and Novartis for MS862 
3Jade Wilcoxson (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies849 
4Megan Guarnier (USA) Team TIBCO/To the Top602 
5Amber Neben (USA)533 
6Kristin Armstrong (USA) Exergy Twenty 12)407 
7Evelyn Stevens (UsA)385 
8Kristin McGrath (USA) Exergy Twenty 12323 
9Clara Hughes (Can)300 
10Leah Kirchmann (Can) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies296 
11Ina Teutenberg (Ger)295 
12Jacquelyn Crowell (USA) Exergy Twenty 12292 
13Amanda Miller (USA) Team TIBCO/To the Top274 
14Theresa Cliff-Ryan (USA) Exergy Twenty 12270 
15Andrea Dvorak (USA)269 
16Emilia Fahlin (Swe)250 
17Shara Gillow (Can)248 
18Kathryn Donovan (USA) FCS/ Rouse p/b Mr Restore237 
19Claudia Hausler (Ger)225 
20Janel Holcomb (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies222 
21Joelle Numainville (Can) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies221 
22Loren Rowney (Aus)218 
23Jasmin Glaesser (Can)204 
24Julie Beveridge (Can)195 
25Lindsay Myers (USA) Team TIBCO/To the Top193 
Men's team standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Competitive Cyclist Racing Team1716 pts
2Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies1440 
3Bissell Cycling1244 
4Kenda 5 Hour Energy p/b Geargrinder1202 
5Bontrager Livestrong Team938 
6Team Exergy720 
8Jamis/Sutter Home602 
9California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized434 
10ELBOWZ Racing355 
11Jelly Belly Cycling Team311 
12Team Type 1292 
13Athletix Cycling Benefiting Globalbike194 
14CashCall Mortgage111 
15BMC Hincapie Sportswear Development Team110 
16Juwi Solar Elite Cycling Team70 
17Hagens Berman Cycling46 
19Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop33 
20XO Communications p/b Cisco20 
21Champion System p/b Stan's NoTubes/CRCA5 
22Astellas Oncology Cycling Team p/b ABD4 
Final women's team standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies2751 pts
2Exergy Twenty 121539 
3Team TIBCO/To the Top1431 
4NOW and Novartis for MS1295 
5FCS/ Rouse p/b Mr Restore467 
6Primal/MapMyRider Women's Racing239 
8Colavita-ESPNW Pro Cycling Team67 
9Team Kenda p/b Gear Grinder58 
11ABD Cycling Team12 
12Pepper Palace/Spin-Tech Training p/b ABRC5 
13ISCorp Cycling Team3 

Related Articles

Back to top