Cancellara leads WorldTour rankings

Quintana up to fourth after Pais Vasco victory

Fabian Cancellara ended his spring Classics campaign with a rare Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix doubled and top spot in the UCI WorldTour rankings.

Cancellara scored 100 points for both of his victories, with the points he scored for winning on the pave perhaps gave him a little extra satisfaction by lifting him above rival Peter Sagan (Cannondale Pro Cycling).

He now has a total of 351 points in the individual WorldTour ranking, with Sagan slipping to second with 312 points.

Overall victory at the Tour of the Basque Country that ended on Saturday lifted talented Colombian Nairo Quintana (Movistar) to fourth in the individual ranking. He has 182 points, with Ritchie Porte (Team Sky) third with 200 points thanks to his victory at Paris-Nice and second place in the Basque Country. Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha), who topped the 2012 individual ranking, is currently fifth with 144 points.

Team Sky leads the team rankings thanks to their strong stage race results with 536 points. Cancellara's success has lifted RadioShack-Leopard to second place with 466 points. Katusha is third with 400 points. Spain leads the nations ranking, ahead of Switzerland (360) and Belgium (358).

With most of the cobbled classics riders taking a break, the stage racers are expected to climb up the rankings at the forthcoming Ardennes Classics. However, Sagan is also riding the Amstel Gold race and so could retake the lead before ending his own spring campaign.

WorldTour - Individuals
1Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack Leopard351pts
2Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale Pro Cycling312 
3Richie Porte (Aus) Sky Procycling200 
4Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team182 
5Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha144 
6Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Omega Pharma-Quick Step142 
7Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team140 
8Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Team Saxo-Tinkoff124 
9Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling117 
10Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team111 
11Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin-Sharp107 
12Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team106 
13Simon Spilak (Slo) Katusha102 
14Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin-Sharp92 
15Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha90 
16Javier Moreno Bazan (Spa) Movistar Team86 
17Christopher Froome (GBr) Sky Procycling86 
18Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Sky Procycling82 
19Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Blanco Pro Cycling Team80 
20Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ72 
21Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale71 
22Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-Merida71 
23Niki Terpstra (Ned) Omega Pharma-Quick Step70 
24Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Belisol70 
25Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Orica-GreenEdge64 
26Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team62 
27Borut Bozic (Slo) Astana Pro Team61 
28Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi61 
29Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quick Step61 
30Luca Paolini (Ita) Katusha60 
31Ben Hermans (Bel) RadioShack Leopard52 
32Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky Procycling51 
33Daniel Oss (Ita) BMC Racing Team50 
34Juan Antonio Flecha Giannoni (Spa) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team50 
35Christopher Horner (USA) RadioShack Leopard42 
36Pieter Weening (Ned) Orica-GreenEdge41 
37Robert Gesink (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team41 
38Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team41 
39Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma-Quick Step40 
40Ian Stannard (GBr) Sky Procycling40 
41Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida40 
42Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) AG2R La Mondiale35 
43Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida33 
44Gorka Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi32 
45Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team30 
46Andrey Amador Bakkazakova (CRc) Movistar Team24 
47Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Spa) Movistar Team22 
48Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team22 
49Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ21 
50Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Lampre-Merida20 
51André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol20 
52Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Sky Procycling18 
53Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge18 
54Gianni Meersman (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step16 
55Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick Step15 
56Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step14 
57Wouter Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team14 
58Tony Martin (Ger) Omega Pharma-Quick Step12 
59Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge12 
60Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Lotto Belisol11 
61Tiago Machado (Por) RadioShack Leopard11 
62Stijn Vandenbergh (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step10 
63John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Argos-Shimano10 
64Andreas Klöden (Ger) RadioShack Leopard10 
65Peter Velits (Svk) Omega Pharma-Quick Step10 
66Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale10 
67Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling8 
68Daniele Ratto (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling7 
69Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) RadioShack Leopard6 
70Michael Albasini (Swi) Orica-GreenEdge6 
71Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team6 
72Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team6 
73Daryl Impey (RSA) Orica-GreenEdge6 
74Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling6 
75Mark Renshaw (Aus) Blanco Pro Cycling Team6 
76Francois Parisien (Can) Team Argos-Shimano6 
77Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team6 
78Marcel Kittel (Ger) Team Argos-Shimano6 
79Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ6 
80Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi5 
81Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team5 
82David Lopez Garcia (Spa) Sky Procycling5 
83Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida5 
84John Gadret (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale4 
85Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin-Sharp4 
86Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) FDJ4 
87Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ4 
88Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre-Merida4 
89Adriano Malori (Ita) Lampre-Merida4 
90Angel Vicioso Arcos (Spa) Katusha4 
91Maxim Iglinskiy (Kaz) Astana Pro Team4 
92Manuel Belletti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale4 
93Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Astana Pro Team4 
94Denis Menchov (Rus) Katusha4 
95Bauke Mollema (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team4 
96Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team3 
97Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team2 
98Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff2 
99Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Katusha2 
100Leigh Howard (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge2 
101Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack Leopard2 
102Brett Lancaster (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge2 
103Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Belisol1 
104Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Sharp1 
105Robert Wagner (Ger) Blanco Pro Cycling Team1 
106Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team1 
107Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team1 
108Jonathan Castroviejo Nicolas (Spa) Movistar Team1 
109Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Astana Pro Team1 
110Dennis Vanendert (Bel) Lotto Belisol1 
111Simone Ponzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team1 
112Tony Gallopin (Fra) RadioShack Leopard1 
113Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Belisol1 
114Andrew Fenn (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick Step1 
115Geoffrey Soupe (Fra) FDJ1 
116Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin-Sharp1 
117Barry Markus (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team1 
WorldTour - Nations
8Great Britain309 
11United States230 
17Czech Republic40 
18Costa Rica24 
22South Africa6 
WorldTour - Teams
1Sky Procycling536pts
2RadioShack Leopard466 
4Omega Pharma-Quick Step329 
5Cannondale Pro Cycling325 
6Movistar Team320 
7BMC Racing Team288 
8Blanco Pro Cycling Team279 
10Astana Pro Team180 
13Team Saxo-Tinkoff126 
14Ag2R La Mondiale124 
16Lotto Belisol103 
18Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team93 
19Team Argos-Shimano22 

Related Articles

Back to top