Pugh wins TransWales

The final day of the TransWales dawned bright and early for the riders after a particularly cold night under canvas. The dawn brought with it the warming rays of the sun and the promise - upheld through the day - of blue skies and sunshine. With riders waking their weary bodies after six relentless days in the saddle it was enough to know that 62km was all that lay between them and finishing. At journey's end, the final standings would be announced and the odd beer quaffed in grateful celebration. But before the celebrations could genuinely begin, there was the small matter of pedalling the remaining distance home.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Solo women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marika Covre (Ideal - Vivibike)50:17:47
2Rickie Justine Cotter (Cytek)0:01:24
3Amy O'Loughlin (Beyond 925 / Hotbox)0:15:13
4Maggie McPhillips (Stockport Clarion)0:16:40
5Amy Baron-Hall (trio25.blogspot.com)0:21:45
6Lowri Bunn (Lowri)0:37:10
7Tatjana Troll1:12:32
8Sarah Haley2:02:37
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Solo men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jonathan Pugh (clee cycles KCNC high 5)49:56:55
2Josh Ibbett (IronHorse-Extreme)0:05:37
3Jon Bowie (Trismart)0:06:45
4James Sanford (BIKE RLC)0:07:51
5Mark McPhillips (Stockport Clarion)0:13:25
6Gethin Howells (Swansea Wheelers)0:13:42
7Andrew Mitchell (Chester Tri)0:15:55
8Rob Brown0:16:35
9Richard Morgan0:22:35
10Matt Carr (Trek Bikes)0:23:47
11Alex Metcalfe (Gore Bike Wear)0:24:27
12Andy Barnsley0:24:44
13Matthew Smith (Valley-Boy)0:24:53
14Ricky Dickenson (Cytek)0:28:47
15Nickson Mwaura0:29:04
16Robin Calverley (Royal Air Force)0:30:34
17Rob Gates (Berks on Bikes)0:30:35
18Lee Price0:31:10
19Will McCabe0:31:48
20Damian Keefe (Team DK)0:32:12
21Michael Dahlhausen0:32:50
22Lee Bacco0:33:07
23Matthew Wood (West Drayton MBC)0:33:22
24Rob Holbeche (No Friends No Gears)0:34:37
25Robert Finch (RAFCC)0:34:39
26Oliver Castle (Mao MTB)0:35:11
27Richard Querelle0:35:30
28Ben Amesbury (Clwydian)0:37:50
29Andy Beardsley (Oakes Surveys)0:38:00
30Phil Dowling (ride-bikes.com)0:41:20
31Noel Gonsalves0:44:44
32Mark Gray (Knackered Knees)0:45:20
33Anton Michel0:51:12
34Ben Phillips0:52:43
35Jason Keith (nmbc / midaircrisis)0:55:53
36Neil Walters0:58:11
37Paul Plowman (Anything 4 A Ride)1:02:06
38Rick Banks (methley massive minus 1)1:02:21
39Rob Gray (Blue Ocean IQ)1:08:20
40Neil Atkinson (Rideon/Buff)1:14:01
41Graeme Spreadbury (Anything 4 A Ride)1:22:39
42Wayne Harper1:24:31
43Ben Nathan (victoria inn)1:36:19
44James Dyson (PEDALSPORT CC)1:42:30
45David James (Anything 4 A Ride)1:50:32
46Robert Jones (The long and the slow of it)2:06:33
47Paul Latchem (Phasenineclothing.co.uk)2:22:33
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Solo veteran men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Steve Heading (White Racing UK)50:01:14
2Gareth Bowyer (ffasiynau anabelle fashions)0:05:28
3Jonathan Edwards0:08:31
4Daryl Cavill (Tenby Aces Cycling Club)0:09:14
5Gary Cousins (Phasenineclothing.co.uk)0:14:18
6Andy Heading0:15:15
7Andy Roberts0:18:22
8Andy Hull0:20:37
9Tim Johnson0:21:58
10Paul Clarke (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA)0:23:47
11Gary Hull (chicken legs)0:24:20
12Steve Whitehouse0:24:32
13Henry Harris (Gillingham Wheelers)0:25:48
14Simon McAllister (Team Sinobill)0:29:08
15Bryan Stadden0:32:00
16Steve Parsons (Beyond 925)0:32:52
17Adrian Rees (Solitary Refinement)0:33:23
18Ray Morriss (Mintcake MTB)0:33:36
19Dave Mansell (Madmance)0:35:50
20Duncan Mellish0:37:29
21Bill Neave (da me (da fatty))0:41:14
22Andy Crane0:42:35
23Nick Beauchamp0:49:42
24Steve Eastwood (Chester Tri)0:54:23
25Alex Spiteri-James0:55:25
26Gary Wright (NorPol)0:57:31
27Royston Smith (Long Way Home)1:01:27
28Mario Manica (Carpentari)1:12:36
29Tim Hazell1:13:17
30Tom Dunn1:26:05
31Stéphane Van Wonterghem1:32:49
32Dominic Brown (Team Dibbley)1:36:39
33Graham Hughes1:50:06
34Martin Door1:58:20
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Mixed teams
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jay Horton & Maddie Horton (Team Certini)50:07:41
2Michael Tomlinson & Fi Spotswood (South Fork Racing)0:03:22
3Theresia Baumker & Werner Baumker (Team Charl '77)0:20:11
4Claire Neuhoff & Simon Neuhoff (The Clantons)0:30:32
5Christie Boucher & Charles Boucher (Boucher Luck)0:30:44
6Ian Coop & Carly Annable-coop (The Wombles)1:10:53
7Ben Holgate & Jenni Lappalainer (Steel of the Andes)1:21:24
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Women's teams
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Joy Bringer & Camilla Edlin (BAD by association)51:00:16
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men's teams
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Dan Lewis & Neil Richardson (Royal Air Force CA)50:01:09
2Andy Jones & Ben Jones (Clee Cycles KCNC)0:02:40
3Brendan Kay & Simon Gough (ARMY CYCLING)0:10:11
4Bjorn Suetens & Koen Dierckens (Los Pistoleros Flamencos)0:16:52
5Jonny Williams & James Holness (Beyond 925)0:18:24
6Robert Axe & Stacy Turner (Team TF Bundy)0:26:09
7Brendan Stevens & Stephen Marks (Cornish Piskies)0:27:33
8Simon Whomsley & Neil Clarke (McRutters)0:28:08
9Eoin Fitzgerald & Chris O'Callaghan (Ballyhoura Boys)0:29:48
10Russ Walton & Stuart Bruce (Cotswold Outdoor)0:31:47
11Will Cook & Steve Middleton (Bison Cycleworks)0:31:49
12Sarel Hiemstra & Johan Nell (BatCat)0:35:13
13Charlie Buckle & Dan Buckle (Buckle Brothers)0:38:07
14Dan Durrant & Jake Morris (Dan+Jake)0:39:55
15David Pearce & Gareth Joyce (Ride the Alps)0:41:39
16Anthony Morris & Paul Markland (Evans Cycles)0:43:59
17Dan Hughes & William Packer0:47:35
18Andrew Munro & Wesley Botha (Zulu)0:49:12
19Stuart Bridges & Simon Vining0:55:11
20Tony Ireland & Phil Marland (Team Tredz)1:10:15
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Veteran men's teams
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Fulvio Damian & Elvo Del Puppo (Ideal - ViviBike)50:08:52
2David Rielly & Steve Partington (Isle of Man Fire Service)0:18:59
3Graham Denny & Shane Dickenson (Cytek)0:34:08
4Mark Carter & Nick Johnson (Team Stupid)0:36:59
5Mark Johnson & Ray Herring (bicyclemania old duffers)0:41:00

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1