Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Elite 2018

Latest News from the Race


An audacious attack 2.5 kilometres from the finish line at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad proved the winning move for Michael Valgren to close out an aggressive edition of the race.

The Dane had time to take in the moment as Łukasz Wiśniowski (Team Sky) and Sep Vanmarcke (EF Education First-Drapac) crossed the line for the minor podium positions, just ahead of the peloton.

The Muur van Gaardsbergen played a pivotal role in how the finale played out of the race with Vanmarcke launching a blistering attack and forcing a major selection. There was a regrouping on the Bosberg but it was clear who had the legs and who was lacking. Astana with three riders had the numbers and played their cards to perfection with Valgren rewarded for his aggression. Having played a major role in making the race, Vanmarcke had to settle for third place as consolation. The classics though have only just begun with each week growing in importance until the Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix finale in April.

For the full Omloop Het Nieuwsblad race report, results and photosOmloop Het Nieuwsblad Elite, click here

2018 Omloop Het NieuwsbladResults

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Michael Valgren (Den) Astana Pro Team4:50:14
2Lukasz Wisniowski (Pol) Team Sky0:00:12
3Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) EF Education First-Drapac p/b CannondaleRow 2 - Cell 2
4Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-SegafredoRow 3 - Cell 2
5Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step FloorsRow 4 - Cell 2
6Edward Theuns (Bel) Team SunwebRow 5 - Cell 2
7Bert Van Lerberghe (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions CreditsRow 6 - Cell 2
8Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-MeridaRow 7 - Cell 2
9Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJRow 8 - Cell 2
10Marcus Burghardt (Ger) Bora-HansgroheRow 9 - Cell 2

2017 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad2016 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad | 2015 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad


Top News on the Race

Related Features