Gent-Wevelgem Women 2018

Latest News from the Race

Gent-Wevelgem Women Overview


Gent-Wevelgem marked the fifth round of the 2018 Women's WorldTour held on March 25 in Belgium.

Marta Bastianelli (Alé Cipollini) won in a sprint from a group of just over thirty riders after a hard-fought finale. Jolien D'hoore (Mitchelton-Scott) narrowly missed victory for the second year in a row, but takes the overall lead in the UCI Women's WorldTour. Lisa Klein (Canyon-SRAM) sprinted to third place.

The race was 143km held between Boezinge and Wevelgem and the route offers five climbs including twice up the Kemmelberg. It will also include dirt roads this year. It is a slightly flatter race than some of the other classics, and a good warm-up for the Tour of Flanders.

Past winners include Lotta Lepistö, Chantal Blaak, Floortje Mackaij and Lauren Hall.


2018 Gent-Wevelgem - Brief Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Ale Cipollini3:41:00
2Jolien D'hoore (Bel) Mitchelton ScottRow 1 - Cell 2
3Lisa Klein (Ger) Canyon-SRAM RacingRow 2 - Cell 2
4Arlenis Sierra (Cub) Astana Women's TeamRow 3 - Cell 2
5Amy Pieters (Ned) Boels Dolmans CyclingteamRow 4 - Cell 2
6Hannah Barnes (GBr) Canyon-SRAM RacingRow 5 - Cell 2
7Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Cervelo - Bigla Pro Cycling TeamRow 6 - Cell 2
8Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team SunwebRow 7 - Cell 2
9Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Team Virtu CyclingRow 8 - Cell 2
10Letizia Paternoster (Ita) Astana Women's TeamRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
2018 Women's WorldTour ranking - Brief results
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Jolien D'Hoore (Bel) Mitchelton Scott Women380pts
2Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Canyon-SRAM Racing350Row 1 - Cell 3
3Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Ale Cipollini350Row 2 - Cell 3
4Amy Pieters (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam290Row 3 - Cell 3
5Chloe Hosking (Aus) Ale Cipollini280Row 4 - Cell 3
6Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam253Row 5 - Cell 3
7Marianne Vos (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team235Row 6 - Cell 3
8Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam205Row 7 - Cell 3
9Arlenis Sierra (Cub) Astana Women's Team185Row 8 - Cell 3
10Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High5160Row 9 - Cell 3