TechPowered By

More tech

Armitstead gets her classics groove going in Het Hageland

Cycling News

Briton bests break companions for maiden win of 2012

Amritsead was too quick for her rivals in the wet finale.

Amritsead was too quick for her rivals in the wet finale.

view thumbnail gallery

Elizabeth Armitstead (AA Drink - opened her 2012 road account with a magnificent show of strength on the Belgian roads of Tielt, besting Pauline Prevot (Rabobank) and Elisa Longo Borghini (Hitec Products) to take her first Omloop van het Hageland - Tielt-Winge.

The win comes as a nice confidence booster for Amritstead who is hoping to get herself gold in the Olympic Games in London in four months time.

Full results
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) AA Drink - Cycling Team 3:17:49  
2 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team 0:00:02  
3 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team 0:00:04  
4 Kirsten Wild (Ned) AA Drink - Cycling Team 0:00:43  
5 Adrie Visser (Ned) Skil 1T4I    
6 Kelly Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Ridley 2012    
7 Simona Frapporti (Ita) Be Pink    
8 Kaat Hannes (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies    
9 Lucy Martin (GBr) AA Drink - Cycling Team    
10 Jolien D'hoore (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Ridley 2012    
11 Sarah Düster (Ger) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team    
12 Anne Arnouts (Bel) Kleo Ladies Team    
13 Martine Bras (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam    
14 Fiona Dutriaux (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope    
15 Megan Guarnier (USA) Tibco - To The Top    
16 Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team    
17 Jessy Druyts (Bel)    
18 Fröydis Waerstad (Nor) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team    
19 Kim De Baat (Ned)    
20 Annelies Dom (Bel)    
21 Latoya Brulee (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Ridley 2012    
22 Amy Pieters (Ned) Skil 1T4I    
23 Thalita De Jong (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team    
24 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team    
25 Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
26 Hanna Nilsson (Swe) Alriksson Go:Green    
27 Emma Johansson (Swe) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team    
28 Christine Majerus (Lux) Team GSD Gestion    
29 Lieselot Decroix (Bel) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam    
30 Maaike Polspoel (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Ridley 2012    
31 Sanne Bamelis (Bel)    
32 Kelly Markus (Ned) Skil 1T4I    
33 Linea Fredäng (Swe) Alriksson Go:Green    
34 Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Vienne Futuroscope    
35 Ann-Sofie Duyck (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies    
36 Celine Van Severen (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
37 Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team    
38 Lucinda Brand (Ned) AA Drink - Cycling Team    
39 Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team    
40 Ine Beyen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Ridley 2012    
41 Giulia Ronchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo - Servetto    
42 Anne-Marie Schmitt (Lux) Team GSD Gestion    
43 Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam    
44 Chantal Blaak (Ned) AA Drink - Cycling Team    
45 Jessie Daams (Bel) AA Drink - Cycling Team    
46 Samantha Schneider (USA) Tibco - To The Top    
47 Emma Silversides (GBr) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
48 Lensy Debboudt (Bel)    
49 Elena Berlato (Ita) Fassa Bortolo - Servetto    
50 Robin Farina (USA)    
51 Jet Wildeman (Ned)    
52 Marie Lindberg (Swe) Kleo Ladies Team    
53 Martina Corazza (Ita) Kleo Ladies Team    
54 Alexandra Tondeur (Bel) ASPTT Dijon - Bourgogne    
55 Andrea Dvorak (USA) Exergy Twenty12    
56 Linda Van Rijen (Ned) Skil 1T4I    
57 Iris Slappendel (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team    
58 Patricia Schwager (Swi) Team GSD Gestion    
59 Lise Nöstvold (Nor) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team    
60 Jacquelyn Crowell (USA) Exergy Twenty12    
61 Suzanne De Goede (Ned) Skil 1T4I    
62 Petra Dijkman (Ned) Kleo Ladies Team 0:00:56  
63 Marieke Van Wanroij (Ned) AA Drink - Cycling Team 0:00:58  
64 Irene Van Den Broek (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam 0:01:08  
65 Geerike Schreurs (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team 0:01:58  
66 Sofie Verdonck (Bel)    
67 Inge Roggeman (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team 0:02:33  
68 Gilke Croket (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Ridley 2012    
69 Ilona Hoeksma (Ned)    
70 Roxane Fournier (Fra)    
71 Sione Jongstra (Ned)    
72 Kimberly Buyl (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
73 Liesbeth Verbeeck (Bel)    
74 Elodie Hegoburu (Fra)    
75 Vera Koedooder (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
76 Kim Schoonbaert (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies    
77 Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Skil 1T4I    
78 Francesca Cauz (Ita) Fassa Bortolo - Servetto    
79 Edith Van Den Brande (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Ridley 2012    
80 Nathalie Lamborelle (Lux) Kleo Ladies Team    
81 Emilie Aubry (Swi) Team GSD Gestion    
82 Siobhan Horgan (Irl) Team GSD Gestion    
83 Tone Hatteland (Nor) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team    
84 Baukje Doedee (Ned) 0:02:37  
85 Femke Verstichelen (Bel) 0:02:38  
86 Charlotte Bravard (Fra) Team GSD Gestion 0:02:44  
87 Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam 0:02:53  
88 Manon Klomp (Ned) 0:02:56  
89 Inge Klep (Ned) 0:03:02  
90 Laura Van Der Kamp (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam 0:03:13  
91 Tara Gins (Bel) 0:03:31  
92 Steffi Jamoneau (Fra) 0:03:48  
93 Audrey Cordon (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope 0:05:40  
94 Hester Wagenaar (Ned) 0:06:39