Vos outsprints Bastianelli to win Novilon Eurocup

Armitstead solos in for third place

One day after sprinting to victory in the opening round of the UCI Women's Road World Cup, Marianne Vos (Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team) won the Novilon Eurocup from a two-rider break. The Dutch champion proved too much for her breakaway companion Marta Bastianelli (MCipollini Giambenini) in the kick to the finish line, and Vos won easily with a two-second margin over the 2007 world road champion.

British champion Elizabeth Armitstead (AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team) was part of the race-winning break with Vos and Bastianelli but had no answer when Vos attacked approximately six kilometers from the finish. Bastianelli was able to bridge back to Vos and stay with her through to the finish, while Armitstead soloed to third place, 1:31 back. Bastianelli's teammate Monia Baccaille (MCipollini Giambenini) won the field sprint for fourth place approximately one minute after Armitstead finished.

Vos was well aware of Bastianelli's finish kick as she finished second to the Italian at the 2007 world championships. "I've regularly encountered Marta at the European and World Championships and I know she's not slow," said Vos. "It was a matter of seeing how the sprint would play out."

The winning break was initiated by Bastianelli, who attacked from a lead group of approximately 60 riders with 15 kilometers remaining. Vos and Armitstead joined forces in pursuit and bridged to Bastianelli to form the decisive break.

While Armitstead had hoped to stay with her breakaway companions through to the finish, she's still in the process of building form for races later in the spring. "Marianne was again very strong," Armitstead said on her team's website. "I hope she now has reached top form, because that would mean there's not much room for improvement. I've been building form slowly and at the Tour of Flanders I want to be at my strongest."

Full Results
1 Marianne Vos (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team 3:42:24  
2 Marta Bastianelli (Ita) MCipollini Giambenini 0:00:02  
3 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team 0:01:31  
4 Monia Baccaille (Ita) MCipollini Giambenini 0:02:26  
5 Kirsten Wild (Ned) AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team    
6 Giada Borgato (Ita) Diadora - Pasta Zara    
7 Chloe Hosking (Aus) Team Specialized - Lululemon    
8 Emma Johansson (Swe) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team    
9 Martine Bras (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam    
10 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Team Specialized - Lululemon    
11 Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) MCipollini Giambenini    
12 Lucy Martin (GBr) AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team    
13 Pascale Jeuland (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope    
14 Anne Arnouts (Bel) Kleo Ladies Team    
15 Nicole Cooke (GBr) Faren Honda Team    
16 Sharon Laws (GBr) AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team    
17 Carmen McNellis Small (USA) USA National Team    
18 Marlen Jöhrend (Ger) Abus Nutrixxion    
19 Valentina Scandolara (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini Rox    
20 Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Skil 1t4i    
21 Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned) Team SRAM    
22 Daniela Gass (Ger) Abus Nutrixxion    
23 Sarah Düster (Ger) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team    
24 Alexandra Burchenkova (Rus) S.C. Michela Fanini Rox    
25 Inga Cilvinaite (Ltu) Diadora - Pasta Zara    
26 Simona Frapporti (Ita) Be Pink    
27 Jessica Glasbergen (Ned) Team SRAM    
28 Josien Van Wingerden (Ned) Team SRAM    
29 Julie Beveridge (Can) Vienne Futuroscope    
30 Oxana Kozonchuk (Rus) Be Pink    
31 Adrie Visser (Ned) Skil 1t4i    
32 Iris Slappendel (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team 0:02:34  
33 Irene Van Den Broek (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam    
34 Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam 0:02:36  
35 Isabelle Söderberg (Swe) AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team    
36 Jennifer Purcell (USA) TIBCO - To The Top 0:02:39  
37 Amanda Spratt (Aus) GreenEdge - AIS    
38 Amy Pieters (Ned) Skil 1t4i    
39 Alexis Rhodes (Aus) GreenEdge - AIS    
40 Patricia Schwager (Swi) Team GSD Gestion    
41 Robin Farina (USA) USA National Team    
42 Madeleine Olsson (Swe) AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team    
43 Jennifer Hohl (Swi) Faren Honda Team    
44 Nina Kessler (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam    
45 Suzanne De Goede (Ned) Skil 1t4i    
46 Vera Koedooder (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
47 Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Team Specialized - Lululemon 0:02:48  
48 Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Team Specialized - Lululemon 0:02:53  
49 Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) MCipollini Giambenini 0:02:54  
50 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team    
51 Valentina Carretta (Ita) MCipollini Giambenini    
52 Charlotte Becker (Ger) Team Specialized - Lululemon    
53 Rowena Fry (Aus) GreenEdge - AIS    
54 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) GreenEdge - AIS    
55 Irina Molicheva (Rus) RusVelo 0:03:27  
56 Jennifer Wheeler (USA) TIBCO - To The Top    
57 Julia Martisova (Rus) Be Pink 0:04:25  
58 Theresa Cliff-Ryan (USA) USA National Team    
59 Agne Silinyte (Ltu) Diadora - Pasta Zara 0:06:41  
60 Kelly Markus (Ned) Skil 1t4i    
61 Evelyn Arys (Bel) Kleo Ladies Team    
62 Thalita De Jong (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team    
63 Lauren Hall (USA) TIBCO - To The Top    
64 Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo - Servetto    
65 Elena Utrobina (Rus) Faren Honda Team    
66 Inge Roggeman (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
67 Birgit Lavrijssen (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
68 Sione Jongstra (Ned) Jan van Arckel    
69 Thea Thorsen (Nor) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team    
70 Manon Klomp (Ned)    
71 Anouk Rockx (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team    
72 Karen Elzing (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam    
73 Silke Kogelman (Ned)    
74 Annelies Visser (Ned)    
75 Esra Tromp (Ned) Skil 1t4i    
76 Mélanie Bravard (Fra) Team GSD Gestion    
77 Tone Hatteland Lima (Nor) Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team    
78 Judith Bloem (Ned) Restore Cycling    
79 Judith Jelsma (Ned) Peoples Trust Ladies Cycling Team    
80 Gloria Presti (Ita) Be Pink    
81 Belinda Goss (Aus) Abus Nutrixxion    
82 Fabienne Schaus (Lux) Abus Nutrixxion    
83 Lorena Foresi (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini Rox    
84 Martina Ruzickova (Cze) S.C. Michela Fanini Rox    
85 Emma Mackie (Aus) Abus Nutrixxion    
86 Natalie Van Gogh (Ned) DPD - Pakketservice    
87 Julia Soek (Ned)    
88 Marie Lindberg (Swe) Kleo Ladies Team    
89 Nathalie Lamborelle (Lux) Kleo Ladies Team    
90 Emilie Aubry (Swi) Team GSD Gestion    
91 Giuseppina Grassi Herrera (Mex) Faren Honda Team    
92 Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies    
93 Evgeniya Romanyuta (Rus) RusVelo    
94 Lina-Kristin Schink (Ger) Team GSD Gestion    
95 Annalisa Cucinotta (Ita) Kleo Ladies Team    
96 Kim Schoonbaert (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies    
97 Sandra Van Veghel (Ned) Team SRAM    
98 Alessandra D'ettorre (Ita) Diadora - Pasta Zara 0:06:52  
99 Martina Corazza (Ita) Kleo Ladies Team    
100 Janneke Ensing (Ned) Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam 0:06:54  
Back to top