TechPowered By

More tech

MTB World Cup Cross Country #2 2011

Date range:
May 19-22, 2011

May 19, Eliminator cross country finals:

Van Der Ploeg wins Dalby Eliminator

Rob Jones
May 21, 2011, 0:33 BST,
May 22, 2011, 3:16 BST

Schneitter captures women's victory

Paul Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Felt Oetztal X - Bionic Team

Paul Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Felt Oetztal X - Bionic Team

view thumbnail gallery

Women's race

The new eliminator series in the UCI mountain bike World Cup had a highly successful debut at the Dalby World Cup on Friday evening. Twenty six women and 42 men took part in the qualifying time trial, with all of the women and the top 32 men moving on to the heats competition. Nathalie Schneitter (Colnago Arreghini Sudtirol) took the women's victory and Paul van der Ploeg (Felt Oetztal X - Bionic) won the men's.

After later afternoon rain showers threatened to impact the event, the skies cleared up and the roads dried out just before the start. Held in the north Yorkshire town of Pickering, the course took riders on a winding up-and-down course, through a church cemetery and down a set of stairs. The key was a strong start in the top two positions, since passing was difficult. Thousands of spectators came out to watch, lining the finishing uphill straightaway.

British rider Annie Last qualified first for the women, Sweden's Alexandra Engen. Tracy Moseley (Trek World Racing), the reigning downhill world champion qualified fourth, and four cross World Cup leader Anneke Beerten (Milka Trek) was ninth.

In the four rider heats, Moseley, her British teammate Annie Last and Katerina Nash (Luna) looked to be the strongest, but Schneitter was more consistent. Moseley rode to set up her teammate Last in the semi-final ride, but knocked herself out of the final in the process. Last and Schneitter were joined by Katrin Leumann (Ghost Factory) and Engen made up the other members of the final. Schneitter went to the front on the first short climb, and easily held off Last for the victory, with Leumann taking third.

Men's race

In the men's race, defending champion Thomas Litscher (Felt Oetztal X - Bionic) appear to be well on his way to another win, as he qualified first and won his intermediate heats easily. Also riding well were Marco Fontana (Cannondale) and Sepp Freiburghas, which made up the final foursome.

Surprisingly, pre-race favourite Brian Lopes went out in the first round, with Geoff Kabush (Maxxis-Rocky Mountain) the only North American to make it out of the first round. Also going out early were cross country World Cup leader Nino Schurter (Scott-Swisspower) and his teammate Florian Vogel.

In the final, Litscher got an uncharacteristically slow start, allowing his teammate to take the lead. Van der Ploeg led from start to finish, with Litscher striving to overtake him on the final climb to the finish, but just falling short.

Big Final
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Paul Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Felt Oetztal X - Bionic Team    
2 Thomas Litscher (Swi) Felt Oetztal X - Bionic Team    
3 Marco Aurelio Fontana (Ita) Cannondale Factory Racing    
4 Sepp Freiburghaus (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team    
Small Final
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
5 Jochen Kass (Ger) Multivan Merida Biking Team    
6 Martin Gujan (Swi) Cannondale Factory Racing    
7 Marco Schätzing (Ger) Team Firebike - Droessiger    
8 Daniel Federspiel (Aut)    
1/4 Finals
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
9 Manuel Fumic (Ger) Cannondale Factory Racing    
10 Severin Disch (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team    
11 Nicola Rohrbach (Swi) Elettroveneta - Corratec    
12 Moritz Milatz (Ger) Bmc Mountainbike Racing Team    
13 Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis - Rocky Mountain    
14 Steven James (GBr)    
15 David Collins (GBr)    
16 Lukas Flückiger (Swi) Trek World Racing    
1/8 Finals
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
17 Brian Lopes (USA)    
18 Kevin Van Hoovels (Bel) Versluys - Evenza Team    
19 Emil Lindgren (Swe) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team    
20 Robby De Bock (Bel)    
21 Michal Lami (Svk)    
22 Spencer Paxson (USA) Kona    
23 Florian Vogel (Swi) Scott - Swisspower Mtb - Racing    
24 John Whittington (GBr)    
25 Magnus Darvell (Swe)    
26 Ben Thomas (GBr)    
27 Mattias Wengelin (Swe)    
28 Francis Morin (Can) BH - Suntour - Peisey Vallandry    
29 Dave Henderson (GBr)    
30 Fredrik Edin (Swe)    
31 Nino Schurter (Swi) Scott - Swisspower MTB - Racing    
DNF Milan Dolezal (Cze) GT Czech Team    

Elite women

Big Final
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Nathalie Schneitter (Swi) Colnago Arreghini Sudtirol    
2 Annie Last (GBr)    
3 Katrin Leumann (Swi) Ghost Factory Racing Team    
4 Alexandra Engen (Swe)    
Small Final
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
5 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team    
6 Pavla Havlikova (Cze)    
7 Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing    
8 Chloe Forsman (USA)    
1/4 Finals
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
9 Katherine O'Shea (Aus)    
10 Lisa Mitterbauer (Aut) Bikepark.Ch Scott    
11 Anneke Beerten (Ned) Milka Trek Mtb Racing Team    
12 Eva Lechner (Ita) Colnago Arreghini Sudtirol    
13 Aleksandra Dawidowicz (Pol) CCC Polkowice    
14 Lee Craigie (GBr)    
15 Anna Szafraniec (Pol) CCC Polkowice    
16 Lucie Vesela (Cze) GT Czech Team    
1/8 Finals
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
17 Karen Hanlen (NZl)    
18 Nicoletta De Jager (Ned)    
19 Hana Jezkova (Cze) GT Czech Team    
20 Krista Park (USA)    
21 Magdalena Sadlecka (Pol) CCC Polkowice    
22 Maxine Filby (GBr)    
23 Amy Dombroski (USA)    
24 Janka Stevkova (Svk)    
25 Vendula Kuntova (Cze) GT Czech Team