Kirchmann wins Grand Prix Cycliste Gatineau

Canadian out-sprints Beveridge and Doebel-Hickok

Leah Kirchmann, racing for Team Canada, won the Grand Prix Cycliste Gatineau for the second time in three years on Thursday, holding off Rally UHC riders Allison Beveridge and Krista Doebel-Hickok on a long uphill sprint after 104 kilometres of racing.

The 10th edition of the race through the Gatineau national park, across the Ottawa River from the Canadian capital, took the field of 70 riders on a long, winding climb to a two-lap loop before they dropped back to a short finishing circuit for five laps.

Rally UHC and Team Canada were aggressive on the first major climb, splitting the field in half. Rally put all six of their riders in the lead group, while Team Canada had three. Tibco-SVB had only one rider up front, and the rest of the team led the chase from the second group, but couldn't quite manage to close the gap.

On the finishing circuit, Rally UHC were aggressive with attacks, but it was pretty clear that the race would come down to a sprint. Kirchmann took the lead out of the final sweeping turn onto the uphill finish, and held off Beveridge to win by a bike length.

"It's a really hard finish," said Kirchmann, who ordinarily rides for UCI women's team Sunweb. "You come off the ramp and then it's a really long drag to the line. It's a really hard sprint. The first climb is the most difficult part of the race, and we wanted to ride that full gas and see how small a group we could get because it's easier to control and would increase our odds in the sprint.

"Our plan worked super well," she continued, "and my teammates controlled it well for me to set up the sprint. Rally were attacking hard in the last two laps, so we had our work cut out for us. It was really a drag race against Allison, and I was happy to come out on top."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Leah Kirchmann (Can)2:45:14 
2Allison Beveridge (Can) Rally Uhc Cycling  
3Krista Doebel-Hickok (USA) Rally Uhc Cycling  
4Ariane Bonhomme (Can)  
5Emily Newsom (USA) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank  
6Marie Soleil Blais (Can)  
7Edwige Pitel (Fra) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team  
8Antri Christoforou (Cyp) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team  
9Jennifer George (GBr)  
10Frederique Larose Gingras (Can)  
11Olivia Baril (Can)  
12Deborah Paine (NZl) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team  
13Anna Gabrielle Traxler (Can)  
14Isabella Bertold (Can)  
15Sara Bergen (Can) Rally Uhc Cycling  
16Luce Bourbeau (Can)  
17Ann Pascale Ouellet (Can)  
18Emma Langley (USA)0:00:09 
19Miriam Brouwer (Can)  
20Georgia Simmerling (Can) Sho-Air Twenty20  
21Annie Foreman-Mackey (Can)  
22Stefanie Sydlik (USA)  
23Jennifer Jackson (Can)0:00:16 
24Gillian Ellsay (Can) Rally Uhc Cycling  
25Katherine Maine (Can) Rally Uhc Cycling  
26Sharlotte Lucas (NZl) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank0:06:54 
27Lex Albrecht (Can) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank  
28Holly Simonson (Can)  
29Kaitlyn Rauwerda (Can)  
30Laurie Jussaume (Can)  
31Sophie Bernard (Can)  
32Kinley Gibson (Can)  
33Whitney Surgenor (Can)  
34Magdeleine Vallieres Mill (Can)  
35Emilie Fortin (Can)  
36Darcie Richards (Aus)  
37Mireille Larose Gingras (Can)  
38Emily Marcolini (Can) Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank  
39Camille Primeau (Can)0:07:01 
40Laurie Coulombe (Can)  
41Abigail Mickey (USA) Rally Uhc Cycling0:07:08 
OTLMaggie Coles-Lyster (Can)  
OTLValentina Scandolara (Ita) Cogeas Mettler Look  
OTLGenevieve Whitson (GBr)  
OTLNaomi Monserrat Langarica Resendiz (Mex)  
OTLJill Messier (Can)  
OTLHelena Coney (Can)  
OTLKara Lilly (Can)  
OTLJosephine Peloquin (Can)  
OTLLily Plante (Can)  
OTLElise Piedalue (Can)  
OTLKatherine Bergeron (Can)  
OTLAndreanne Murdaca (Can)  
OTLChloe Desroche (Can)  
OTLSamantha Hargreaves (Can)  
OTLNicole Lentini (Can)  
OTLElizabeth Archbold (Can)  
OTLNoemie Fortin (Can)  
OTLEmma Delisle (Can)  
OTLLindsay Sferrazza (Can)  
OTLAndrea Elliott (Can)  
OTLKristen Marchant (Can)  
OTLErica Leonard (Can)  
OTLFranny Jewett (Can)  
DNFKendall Ryan (USA) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank  
DNFBéatrice Le Sauteur (Can)  
DNFErin J Attwell (Can)  
DNFRachel Jordan (USA)  
DNFAlison Merner (USA)  
DNFMaude Ebacher (Can)  

Related Articles

Back to top