Challenge Mallorca: Cancellara swoops to victory in Deia

Swiss solos clear to claim Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana

Fabian Cancellara (Trek-Segafredo) signalled his intentions for his final season in the professional peloton as he powered clear to claim a fine solo victory in the Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana.

Former world champion Michal Kwiatkowski (Sky) took second place for the second successive day at the head of the chasing group, just in front of Belgian talent Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal).

If Cancellara’s sixth place in Friday’s Trofeo Pollenca-Andratx suggested that he had begun the campaign in fine form, then the final ten kilometres of Saturday’s race provided emphatic confirmation.

On the hilliest of the Challenge Mallorca’s four events, Cancellara had highlighted his eagerness by infiltrating the 23-man break that forged clear around the midway point, and he paced himself expertly when that group began to fragment on the day’s toughest climb, the Puig Major.

Dayer Quintana (Movistar), Tao Geoghegan Hart (Great Britain), Hugh Carthy (Caja Rural), Daniel Teklehaimanot (Dimension Data) and Benat Intxausti (Sky) were among the sizeable break that built up a maximum advantage of a little over two minutes over the main peloton, but all had to give best to Cancellara in the finale.

"I had no expectation to be in the breakaway," Cancellara said. "It was unclear if the break would make it. At the end, I was just trying to save as much energy as I could and followed the attacks from the group. In the last climb somehow I managed to survive, and then I felt some good feelings return."

The coup de grace arrived on the way down the Puig Major, as Cancellara powered clear of his breakaway companions, stretching out his advantage to 50 seconds, and he then proceeded to make light work of the day’s final climb, the Coll d’en Bleda.

Behind, Sky and Movistar, after some initial hesitancy, began to organise the pursuit in earnest, and though they soon swept up the remnants of the break, they never truly threatened to peg back Cancellara. Hunkered down in his familiar position, it was apparent that Cancellara was wholly committed to his attack, and he maintained a lead in excess of 30 seconds over the peloton for most of the final 10 kilometres.

The Swiss rider cruised into Deia to claim victory by 17 seconds. It was Cancellara’s first victory since the concluding time trial of last year’s Tirreno-Adriatico and it also marked the first time that he has ever won a professional race in January.

Kwiatkowski led the chasing group home, 17 seconds behind Cancellara, with Benoot taking third ahead of Friday’s winner Gianluca Brambilla (Etixx-QuickStep) and Alejandro Valverde (Movistar).


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek-Segafredo3:41:48 
2Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky0:00:17 
3Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
4Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Etixx - Quick-Step  
5Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team  
6Merhawi Kudus (Eri) Dimension Data  
7Maxime Bouet (Fra) Etixx - Quick-Step  
8Serge Pauwels (Bel) Dimension Data  
9Paul Voss (Ger) Bora-Argon 18  
10Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
11Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr) Dimension Data0:00:20 
12Luis Angel Mate (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credit  
13Lars Petter Nordhaug (Nor) Team Sky  
14Hugh Carthy (GBr) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
15Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Sky  
16José Herrada (Spa) Movistar Team0:00:26 
17Vegard Stake Laengen (Nor) IAM Cycling0:00:40 
18Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek-Segafredo0:00:46 
19Louis Vervaeke (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:00:49 
20Gorka Izaguirre (Spa) Movistar Team  
21Enric Mas (Spa) Spain  
22Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo0:00:51 
23David Lopez Garcia (Spa) Team Sky  
24Jon Izaguirre (Spa) Movistar Team  
25Benat Intxausti (Spa) Team Sky  
26Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:00:59 
27Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team  
28Vicente Garcia (Spa) Spain  
29Sergey Firsanov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
30Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Great Britain  
31Ibai Salas (Spa) Burgos BH  
32Martin Elmiger (Swi) IAM Cycling  
33Bruno Pires (Por) Team Roth  
34Yoann Bagot (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credit  
35Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credit  
36David Belda Garcia (Spa) Team Roth  
37Frank Schleck (Lux) Trek-Segafredo  
38Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek-Segafredo  
39Bart De Clercq (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
40Jesus Del Pino (Spa) Burgos BH  
41Stephane Rossetto (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credit  
42Antonio Molina (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
43Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
44Ricardo Vilela (Por) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
45Javier Moreno (Spa) Movistar Team  
46Johann Van Zyl (RSA) Dimension Data0:01:33 
47Alexander Foliforov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo0:01:43 
48Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Argon 180:01:44 
49Laurens De Plus (Bel) Etixx - Quick-Step  
50Dayer Quintana (Col) Movistar Team  
51Marcos Jurado (Spa) Spain  
52Daniel Pearson (GBr) Great Britain0:01:52 
53Garikoitz Bravo (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country0:02:37 
54Toms Skujins (Lat) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:03:58 
55Natnael Berhane (Eri) Dimension Data0:03:59 
56Arnaud Courteille (Fra) FDJ0:04:00 
57Odd Christian Eiking (Nor) FDJ0:05:00 
58Jérémy Maison (Fra) FDJ0:05:03 
59Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Dimension Data0:05:05 
60Omar Fraile (Spa) Dimension Data  
61Eduard Prades (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
62Marcel Wyss (Swi) IAM Cycling  
63Tomasz Marczynski (Pol) Lotto Soudal  
64Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
65Mikel Bizkarra (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country0:05:28 
66José Gonçalves (Por) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:05:52 
67Michal Golas (Pol) Team Sky0:08:17 
68Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx - Quick-Step  
69Dominik Nerz (Ger) Bora-Argon 18  
70Gregor Muhlberger (Aut) Bora-Argon 18  
71Adria Moreno (Spa) Spain  
72Imanol Erviti Ollo (Spa) Movistar Team  
73Markel Irizar (Spa) Trek-Segafredo  
74Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) Dimension Data  
75Lawrence Warbasse (USA) IAM Cycling  
76Pirmin Lang (Swi) IAM Cycling  
77Nico Brüngger (Swi) Team Roth  
78Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
79Scott Davies (GBr) Great Britain  
80Kirill Sveshnikov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
81Nicolas Roche (Irl) Team Sky0:09:47 
82Damien Garcia (Fra) Stradalli-BikeAid  
83Benat Txoperena (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country0:09:51 
84Artem Nych (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo0:09:53 
85Artem Samolenkov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
86Oliver Zaugg (Swi) IAM Cycling  
87Valentin Baillifard (Swi) Team Roth  
88Sergei Shilov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
89Anthony Perez (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credit  
90Jorge Cubero (Spa) Burgos BH  
91David Arroyo (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:11:03 
92Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:13:35 
93Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ0:13:43 
94Loïc Chetout (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credit  
95Christian Knees (Ger) Team Sky  
96Matti Breschel (Den) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
97Stefan Denifl (Aut) IAM Cycling  
98Jaime Roson (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
99Dmitrii Strakhov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
100Roman Kustadincev (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
101Riccardo Zoidl (Aut) Trek-Segafredo0:14:13 
102Albert Torres (Spa) Spain  
103Roland Thalmann (Swi) Team Roth  

Related Articles

Back to top