TechPowered By

More tech

USAC junior team rosters named

John Trevorrow
July 26, 2007, 1:00 BST,
April 20, 2009, 22:34 BST
First Edition Cycling News for July 26, 2007

USA Cycling has announced its roster for both the 2007 UCI Junior Road and Track World Championships...

USA Cycling has announced its roster for both the 2007 UCI Junior Road and Track World Championships in Aguascalientes, Mexico which runs from August 4-12. Ben King (Hot Tubes) earned automatic nominations to compete in both the road race and time trial by virtue of his recent victories at the national championships two weeks ago. Joining King on the four-man road race roster is Taylor Phinney, his TIAA-CREF/5280 teammate Daniel Summerhill and Nicholas Bax (Hot Tubes). Phinney and Bax will be Team USA's second and third entries in the time trial, while Summerhill will contest only the road race.

In the women's road race will be Lauren Shirock (BMW-Bianchi), Sinead Miller (UPMC) and Jerika Hutchinson. Shirock earned an automatic nomination to compete in the road race after winning the junior women's 17-18 event at the national championships, while Hutchinson earned an automatic bid in the race against the clock with a national title. Miller earned a discretionary nomination after posting solid results at the national championships which included a third-place finish in the time trial and a second-place effort in the road race.

In the track events, Shirock is also slated to compete in the individual pursuit and points race and will be joined on the women's squad by Colleen Hayduk (Team Fuji-Salamander). Hayduk is scheduled to compete in four sprint-oriented events on the track - the 500-metre time trial, the keirin, the scratch race and the sprint.

For the men's track squad, Shane Kline (Team Fuji-Salamander), Nike Reinert (Team Fuji-Salamander), David Espinoza (Herbalife-Bike America) and Lanell Rockmore (Young Medalist Cycling) will represent the United States. Kline is scheduled to contest the kilometre time trial, the scratch race and the omnium competition, while his Team Fuji-Salamander teammate Reinert will compete in the points race. Espinoza is scheduled for the sprint, kilometre time trial and keirin. Rockmore will ride the sprint and keirin.

Back to top