Nibali climbs WorldTour rankings after Il Lombardia win

Van Avermaet remains in control as competition approaches conclusion

Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) climbed the WorldTour rankings after taking his second ever Il Lombardia title. Nibali had been down in 14th position ahead of the race, but the 500 points available for the win on Saturday was enough for him to ascend to the top-five.

Nibali's Bahrain-Merida squad also moved up a few spots in the team rankings, from 15th to 12th overall.

Above Nibali in the individual rankings, it all looks much the same with Greg Van Avermaet holding firm at the top of the rankings as he has done since the spring. Van Avermaet enjoyed a superb spring that lasted until the Ardennes Classics at the end of April and is 130 points clear of Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana winner Chris Froome.

Giro d'Italia winner and time trial world champion Tom Dumoulin remains in third place with road world champion Peter Sagan just behind him in fourth. Second place finisher Julian Alaphilippe also enjoyed a huge rise up the WorldTour rankings, jumping from 40th to 19th in the standings. He sits one place behind Thibaut Pinot, who was also a big mover after he gained 10 places following Il Lombardia.

Team Sky remains very much in control of the team rankings with a total of 13,014 points, but Quick-Step Floors is keeping them honest with a haul of 12,508. BMC Racing remains in third place over 1,000 points behind while Team Sunweb has held onto their fourth place overall. Movistar, the winner of the last four WorldTour team competitions, moved up a place into fifth after Nairo Quintana earned them 100 points with his top-10 finish in Como, while Trek-Segafredo only took 40 between Bauke Mollema and Peter Stetina.

At the bottom of the standings, Dimension Data remains in 18th place while FDJ was unable to get themselves out of 17th despite Thibaut Pinot's performance. They're still more than 1,000 points behind the next best team Astana.

WorldTour rankings

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team3582 pts
2Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky3452 
3Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb2545 
4Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe2544 
5Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida2196 
6Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky2171 
7Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team2105 
8Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors2050 
9Michael Matthews (Aus) Team Sunweb2049 
10Alberto Contador (Spa) Trek-Segafredo1987 
11Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors1893 
12Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team1882 
13Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team1811 
14Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha-Alpecin1806 
15Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin1686 
16Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale1464 
17Rigoberto Urán (Col) Cannondale-Drapac1360 
18Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ1317 
19Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors1290 
20Ion Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida1276 
21Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale1275 
22Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky1266 
23Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo1259 
24Diego Ulissi (Ita) Team UAE Emirates1217 
25Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team1214 
26Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team LottoNl-Jumbo1191 
27Mikel Landa (Spa) Team Sky1150 
28Arnaud Démare (Fra) FDJ1128 
29Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo1120 
30Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe1117 
Team Classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Team Sky13014 pts
2Quick-Step Floors12508 
3BMC Racing Team10939 
4Team Sunweb8491 
5Movistar Team7524 
6Trek - Segafredo7515 
7Orica - Scott7335 
8Bora - Hansgrohe6346 
9AG2R La Mondiale6316 
10Cannondale - Drapac Professional Cycling Team6016 
11Team Katjoesja - Alpecin5656 
12Bahrain - Merida5222 
13Lotto - Soudal5078 
14Team LottoNL - Jumbo4925 
15UAE Team Emirates4883 
16Astana Pro Team4721 
18Team Dimension Data2490 

Related Articles

Back to top