British riders named for Melbourne World Cup

Strong endurance-based squad for Australian World Cup, Hoy and Pendleton to skip second round

British Cycling today announced its squad for the second round of the International Cycling Union's (UCI) Track Cycling World Cup, on November 19 to 21. The 12 person team includes 10 athletes from the British teams that competed in the opening round in Manchester earlier this month, including nine of who claimed medals.

Team GB accounts for 11 of the riders due to make the journey to Australia. Ed Clancy, Steven Burke, Andrew Tennant, Wendy Houvenaghel and Joanna Rowsell all claimed gold medals in their respective men's and women's team pursuit events in Manchester and will once again compete in Melbourne.

Young endurance riders Andrew Fenn, 19, and Katie Colclough, 19, will race their first World Cup of the year. With Geraint Thomas and Lizzie Armitstead to sit out the Melbourne round, Fenn and Colclough are likely to replace them the British team pursuit squads.

Winner of the men's points race in Manchester, Chris Newton, has also been selected, while Matt Crampton, David Daniell and Jess Varnish will be the three Team GB sprinters in action.

Ross Edgar will be the only member of Sky+ HD to compete in Melbourne. His partners in the successful men's team sprint in Manchester, Sir Chris Hoy and Jamie Staff, will remain in Britain. Sky's Victoria Pendleton is another who will skip the Australian leg of the World Cup season.

British rider to compete in the Melbourne round of the UCI World Cup Classics series:

Team GB
 Steven Burke  
 Ed Clancy  
 Katie Colclough  
 Matt Crampton  
 David Daniell  
 Andrew Fenn  
 Wendy Houvenaghel  
 Chris Newton  
 Joanna Rowsell  
 Andy Tennant  
 Jess Varnish  
Team Sky+ HD
 Ross Edgar  

Related Articles

Back to top