Dutch parade for Tour winner Contador

As is the privilege of being a Tour de France winner, Alberto Contador was the centre of attention in Surhuisterveen as he took out the city's post-Tour criterium ahead of Vacansoleil's Lieuwe Westra and Rabobank local boy Stef Clement.

Dutch riders were well-represented in the race, with the likes of Martijn Maaskant, Steven De Jongh and Niki Terpstra making an appearance for the large crowds that had gathered to see their Tour heroes.

With over six lap remaining the decisive break of seven formed; Contador, Westra, Clement, Maaskant, de Jongh, Renshaw and Terpstra made the cut and would fight out the finale.

Having made his way clear of the other six, on the final lap Contador managed to hold off Westra's spirited chase and hit the finish solo.

Arjan Stroetinga won the bunch sprint for eighth while Bauke Mollema finished 19th in his comeback race.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Header Cell - Column 0 Header Cell - Column 1
1Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Astana
2Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil
3Stef Clement (Ned) Rabobank ProTeam
4Martijn Maaskant (Ned) Team Garmin - Slipstream
5Steven De Jongh (Ned) Quickstep
6Mark Renshaw (Aus) Team Columbia - HTC
7Niki Terpstra (Ned) Milram
8Arjan Stroetinga (Ned)
9Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Silence - Lotto
10Ji Cheng (Chn) Skil-Shimano
11Stijn Vandenbergh (Bel) Katusha
12Theo Postma (Ned) Midi Center - Ruiter Wielerteam
13Adriaan Helmantel (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels
14Joost Posthuma (Ned) Rabobank ProTeam
15Marco Bos (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels
16Albert Timmer (Ned) Skil-Shimano
17Han Feng (Chn)
18Maint Berkenbosch (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels
19Bauke Mollema (Ned) Rabobank ProTeam
20Jan-hendrik Westra (Ned) WV Otto Ebbens
21Andries Weening (Ned) WV Woonexpo Kapenga
22Kevin Hulsmans (Bel) Quickstep
23Arnoud Van Groen (Ned) Vacansoleil
24Wesley Kreder (Ned) Van Vliet - EBH Elshof
25Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team
26Jasper Lenferink (Ned) Krolstone
27Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Rabobank ProTeam
28Wouter Mol (Ned) Vacansoleil
29Bas Stamsnijder (Ned) Van Vliet - EBH Elshof
30Arnoud Van Groen (Ned) Vacansoleil
31Dennis Kreder (Ned) Van Vliet - EBH Elshof


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews