Lampre, Saunier Duval and Gerolsteiner announce Tour squads

Lampre-Fondital has chosen all but one of its nine-man Tour de France squad, a team press release announced today. Directeur sportif Fabrizio Bontempi said that the team directors and general manager Giuseppe Saronni, "chose riders of quality with great morale."

The team, according to Bontempi, will focus on stage wins, and will count on sprinters Daniele Bennati - winner of the sprinter's jersey at the Tour de Suisse, and Danilo Napolitano - a stage winner at the Tour of Slovenia for the flat stages, and Tour of Flanders winner Alessandro Ballan for the transitional stages and Tadej Valjavec in the mountains.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1