Skip to main content

GP de Plouay–Lorient–Agglomeration Trophee Ceratizit 2021

Latest News from the Race

Image 1 of 1

PLOUAY FRANCE AUGUST 30 Elisa Longo Borghini of Italy and Team Trek Segafredo celebrates winning during the 20th GP de Plouay Lorient Agglomration Trophe Ceratizit 2021 a 1504km one day race from Plouay to Plouay GrandPrixPlouay OuestFrance on August 30 2021 in Plouay France Photo by Luc ClaessenGetty Images

Elisa Longo Borghini wins 2021 GP de Plouay (Image credit: Getty Images)

Elisa Longo Borghini takes solo win at GP de Plouay

Elisa Longo Borghini  (Trek-Segafredo) took a solo victory at the GP de Plouay. The Trek-Segafredo rider attacked twice with her second attempt sticking all the way to the finish line in Pouay.

Team Arkea-Samsic’s Gladys Verhulst won the reduced bunch sprint for second with Kristen Faulkner of Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank in third. 

Top 10 - Resuts
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Trek - Segafredo 4:06:02
2Gladys Verhulst (Fra) Arkea Pro Cycling Team 0:00:12
3Kristen Faulkner (USA) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank
4Sofia Bertizzolo (Ita) Liv Racing
5Evita Muzic (Fra) Fdj Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
6Eugenia Bujak (Slo) Ale' Btc Ljubljana
7Elizabeth Deignan (GBr) Trek - Segafredo
8Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Dsm
9Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Team Sd Worx
10Anna Henderson (GBr) Jumbo-Visma Women Team

GP de Plouay - History

GP de Plouay is one of the longest-standing one-day races for women in France, embarking on its 20th edition on August 30 in the Brittany region. The event is part of the Women's WorldTour and attracts the top riders and teams looking for a late-season race victory.

The small village of Plouay annually hosts the one-day race. Now in its 20th edition, the inaugural event was in 2002 as part of the former Women’s World-Cup series.

Previous winners include Regina Schleicher, who won the inaugural edition in 2002, Nicole Cooke, Edita Pučinskaitė, Noemi Cantele (twice), Nicole Brändli, Fabiana Luperini, Emma Pooley (twice), Annemiek van Vleuten, Marianne Vos (twice), Lucinda Brand, Eugenia Bujak, Amy Pieters, Anna van der Breggen, and Lizzie Deignan has won the race a record three times.

The route

Organisers removed the 44km opening loop and increased the number of smaller 13.6km circuits to 11 laps for a total of 150km.

The 13.6km smaller finishing circuit included the Cote du Lezot (1km at 4.7 per cent, with sections as steep as 19 per cent) followed by a small descent and flatter sections before reaching the Montee de Lann Payot (1.3km at 2.6 per cent) and then the Cote du Pont-Neuf (1.5km at 4.2 per cent) located 2km from the finish line.