UCI Road World Championships 2016

October 9-16, 2016, Doha, Doha, Road - CDM

Complete Live Report

Live commentary by:
Stephen Farrand

Hello and welcome to the Cyclingnews live coverage of the elite women's team time trial.


UCI Road World Championships 2016 - Hub

UCI Road World Championship preview

Men's TTT start list 

UCI World Championships: Boels Dolmans win women's TTT


  1. 16:39:10 GST

    As we join the action in the men's race, several minor teams have started their ride but the ten WorldTour teams are expected to fight for the medals and world title.  

  2. 16:40:57 GST

    2015 and 2014 winners BMC will be last to start today.


  3. 16:43:48 GST

     The Astana rolls off and quickly gets into formation. It seems the Astana riders are using a massive 58 chainring to take advantage of a tail wind. 

  4. 16:44:49 GST

    Skydive Dubai sets 16:48 at the first time split.


  5. 16:45:10 GST

    Next off is LottoNL Jumbo. They could be a surprise today.


  6. 16:45:29 GST

    They were third at the recent Eneco Tour TTT. 


  7. 16:48:09 GST

    The teams start divided by 2:30. Giant-Alpecin is off now, with Tom Doumulin expected to drive them along.


  8. 16:51:25 GST

    Team Sky roll off next and quickly line up. Their six-rider squad includes:

    Vasil Kiryienka (Blr) 

    Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol)

    Nicolas Roche (Irl)

    Ben Swift (GBr)

    Geraint Thomas (GBr)

    Danny Van Poppel (Ned) 


  9. 16:53:29 GST

    Orica- Bike Exchange are also off. Can they challenge BMC today? 


  10. 16:53:51 GST

    The six Orica riders are: 


    Luke Durbridge (Aus)
    Alexander Edmondson (Aus)
    Michael Hepburn (Aus)
    Daryl Impey (RSA)
    Michael Matthews (Aus)
    Svein Tuft (Can)


  11. 16:56:08 GST

    The wind has increased to 15km/h and is blowing from the northeast. It could play a major factor in the race today.


  12. 16:58:46 GST

    Astana is the fastest so far at the first time split in 15:37.


  13. 16:59:17 GST

    The Etixx team is off and could also be a threat today.


  14. 17:00:25 GST

    BMC is on the start ramp. Their six rider are:  


    Rohan Dennis (Aus)
    Stefan Kueng (Swi)
    Daniel Oss (Ita)
    Taylor Phinney (USA)
    Manuel Quinziato (Ita)
    Joseph Rosskopf (USA)


  15. 17:01:03 GST

    BMC has been training in Qatar since Monday and have a new TT bike to help gain every second.


  16. 17:01:44 GST

    LottoNL set the new fastest time of 15:24.


  17. 17:04:33 GST

    The on board camera show just how close the Giant-Alpecin rider are to each other despite riding at 58km/h with a tailwind.


  18. 17:06:07 GST

    Team Sky set 15:17. They're fastest so far.


  19. 17:07:03 GST

    The Orica riders are battling a head wind at the moment but punch out a speed of 49km/h.


  20. 17:07:51 GST

    Danny van Poppel has been distanced by Team Sky. They are down to five riders.


  21. 17:08:37 GST

    Orica set 15:27 at the time split, that's 10 seconds slower than Team Sky.


  22. 17:09:55 GST

    The early starters are reaching the second time split. Katusha set 29:05. 


  23. 17:12:26 GST

    Kwiatkowski seems to be struggling at the back of the Team Sky line. 


  24. 17:13:15 GST

    Here comes Etixx. They set 15:11 at the first time split.That's the new best time. 


  25. 17:14:34 GST

    The SkyDive Dubai is currently the fastest at the finish with 48:16.


  26. 17:15:15 GST

    But the Israel Cycling Academy beats them with a time of 46:57. 


  27. 17:16:35 GST

    BMC is second at the time split with 15:14. But the key part of the course coms now, with the long straight section to the Pearl. 


    Riders like Phinney will push a 58 chain ring in a hope the tail wind helps them go over 60km/h.


  28. 17:19:52 GST

    The Veranda Willems team set 46:11 at the finish. The Belgian team has been working hard for the TTT.  


  29. 17:20:56 GST

    Team Sky is the new fastest team at the second time split, with 28:20. 

    They are fast but far from perfect.


  30. 17:21:37 GST

    Orica sets 28:18. They're still in six riders but perhaps not as fast as they hoped after the 15km long section in the desert.


  31. 17:22:55 GST

    CCC Sprandl sets 46:58, third so far, behind Veranda Willems and the Israel Cycling Academy. 


  32. 17:24:45 GST

    AG2R finish in 46:15 but fail to beat Willems Veranda's.


  33. 17:25:10 GST

    However Katusha is much faster and take the hot seat with a time of 44:33.


  34. 17:25:38 GST

    Katusha 44:33 is the time to beat for now.


  35. 17:26:02 GST

    Etixx are fast at the second time split with 27:56. What can BMC do? 


  36. 17:28:48 GST

    BMC still has six riders. they set an intermediate time of 27:56. the same as Etixx. This will be a fight to the end, with every second vital for victory.


  37. 17:29:29 GST

    LottoNL finish in 43:27, taking the lead and the hot seat from Katusha.


  38. 17:30:32 GST

    Team Sky go down to four riders as Kwaitkowski is dropped. Thomas, Swify, Kiryienka and Kennaugh left in the quartet.


  39. 17:31:30 GST

    Etixx are entering the Pearl with six riders as Giant finish.


  40. 17:32:10 GST

    Giant sets a time of 43:58 with four riders. They lost two riders early on and that was a key factor.


  41. 17:32:34 GST

    BMC is still in six as it fights with Etixx for the world title.


  42. 17:33:09 GST

    Vermote has dropped off the Etixx train, as Tony Martin does some big turns.


  43. 17:33:52 GST

    Team Sky finish in a time of 43:26. New best team by half a second.


  44. 17:35:05 GST

    BMC arrive at the Pearl, the curves and corners of the artificial island will be vital today in deciding the world champions.


  45. 17:36:08 GST

    Here comes Orica and sets a time of 43:09. New fastest time. 


  46. 17:36:40 GST

    Luke Durbridge was last home after a huge effort. 


  47. 17:37:33 GST

    Both Etixx and BMC are down to four riders for the final twisting kilometres. 


  48. 17:39:24 GST

    Movistar finish with six riders but set a time of 43:43 and are off the pace.


  49. 17:39:42 GST

    Now its time for Etixx and BMC.


  50. 17:40:12 GST

    Here comes Etixx, with Kittel leading home. 


  51. 17:40:38 GST

    They set 42:32. Is it enough to win? 


  52. 17:41:03 GST

    BMC seems to be a few seconds slower. This will be very close.


  53. 17:41:27 GST

    They are riding like a team pursuit. 


  54. 17:42:07 GST

    Last Km for BMC.


  55. 17:42:29 GST

    Dennis is leading BMC home.


  56. 17:43:09 GST

    BMC fail to win again, setting a time of 42:44. Etixx takes the world TTT title!


  57. 17:43:42 GST

    Etixx cheer and hug each other after taking the win.


  58. 17:44:11 GST

    They have clearly worked hard for this as BMC finish disappointed. 


  59. 17:45:12 GST

    Etixx beat BMC by 11 seconds with Orica third at over 30 seconds back.


  60. 17:56:49 GST

    It's time for the podium ceremony in Qatar, with the women going first.


  61. 17:59:31 GST

    The Boels Dolmans team is last onto the podium and collect their gold medals. 


  62. 18:04:14 GST

    The Dutch national anthem rings out over the Pearl as Boels Dolmans celebrate on the top step of the podium.


  63. 18:04:29 GST

    It will soon be Etixx's time to celebrate.


  64. 18:10:33 GST

    To read our initial report and see the first images from our photographers in Doha, click here.


  65. 18:16:25 GST


    Here is the first image of Etixx-Quickstep in full flight.


    Tony Martin did some massive turns for Etixx-QuickStep 



  66. 18:21:18 GST

    With this image of Etixx-QuickStep we'll wrap up today's coverage. 


    Join us for full coverage from the rest of the UCI Road World Championships all this week. 


    Etixx-QuickStep stayed tight and fast


Back to top