Teutenberg wins Grand Prix cycliste de Gatineau

Gilmore, Andruk round out podium

Specialized-lululemon doubled up in Gatineau this weekend to win both the time trial event and the road race. Ina-Yoko Teutenberg won GP Gatineau on Monday in a sprint from Rochelle Gilmore (Faren Honda Team) and Alona Andruk (Ukraine National Team).

"It was a pretty aggressive race," said Teutenberg. "Especially the second half. We tried pretty hard to get in a break and so did all the other teams. It was good racing."

During the first half of the race Tara Whitten (TIBCO-To the Top) went on a solo attack, which stayed away for some time, joined by Bridie O'Donnell (Vanderkitten-Focus).

"It was a bit early for a solo break and it would have been hard out there for Tara," said Teutenberg. "It was hot and windy and it was hard for breaks to stay away. The roads were pretty wide open and it was so much easier to roll in the bunch than for a break to stay."

After all the break attempts were reeled in, the race came down to a bunch finish and Teutenberg had a lead-out from her team in the final.

"I went a little too early in the sprint," she said, "especially into the headwind. But I was able to hold it so I was happy with that.

"I haven't raced since late April, so it's nice to come back and have a solid weekend of racing. It seems like the training worked well and it was a good start the next block."

Runner-up Rochelle Gilmore was active throughout the race and felt fresh for the sprint, but couldn't come around Teutenberg in the finale.

"I'm not sure how to feel about this result, I did everything right during the race but wonder if I could have been closer to winning with an earlier kick off the wheel of Teutenberg".

Full Results
1 Ina Teutenberg (Ger) Team Specialized - lululemon 3:25:03  
2 Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Faren Honda Team    
3 Alona Andruk (Ukr) Ukrainie National Team    
4 Joelle Numainville (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies    
5 Carmen McNellis Small (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:00:02  
6 Kate Chilcott (NZl) Vanderkitten Focus    
7 Nicole Cooke (GBr) Faren Honda Team 0:00:05  
8 Clara Hughes (Can) Team Specialized - lululemon    
9 Jasmin Hurikino (Aus) Vanderkitten Focus    
10 Evelyn Stevens (USA) Team Specialized - lululemon 0:00:14  
11 Amber Neben (USA) Team Specialized - lululemon    
12 Leah Kirchmann (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:00:19  
13 Mei Yu Hsiao (Tpe) Axman Team Taiwan    
14 Lenore Pipes (Gum) West Quebec Wheelers    
15 Jennifer Purcell (USA) TIBCO - To The Top    
16 Karlee Gendron (Can) Specialized Mazda-SGC    
17 Anne-Marie B. Morin (Can) Specialized Mazda-SGC    
18 Julie Beveridge (Can) Canada National Team    
19 Lex Albrecht (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies    
20 Jennifer Hohl (Swi) Faren Honda Team    
21 Kendall Ryan (USA) TIBCO - To The Top    
22 Lauren Hall (USA) TIBCO - To The Top    
23 Denise Ramsden (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies    
24 Olena Pavlukhina (Ukr) Ukrainie National Team    
25 Lelizaveta Oshurkova (Ukr) Ukrainie National Team    
26 Chia Hui Lin (Tpe) Axman Team Taiwan    
27 Olivia Dillon (Irl) West Quebec Wheelers    
28 Veronique Labonte (Can) Equipe du Quebec    
29 Chiara Nadalutti (Ita) Faren Honda Team    
30 Megan Guarnier (USA) TIBCO - To The Top    
31 Elisabeth Albert (Can) Equipe du Quebec    
32 Liza Rachetto (USA) Forno d'Asolo Colavita    
33 Flavia Oliveira (Bra) Forno d'Asolo Colavita    
34 Olena Sharga (Ukr) Ukrainie National Team    
35 Viktoriya Vologdina (Ukr) Ukrainie National Team    
36 Ally Stacher (USA) Team Specialized - lululemon    
37 Leah Guloien (Can) Colavita ESPN    
38 Sari Saarelainen (Fin) Forno d'Asolo Colavita    
39 Jamie Dinkins (USA)    
40 Michelle Gauthier (Can) Infinit Nutrition Cycle Power    
41 Jasmin Glaesser (Ger) Colavita ESPN    
42 Nik Vogler (Can) Specialized Mazda-SGC    
43 Jessica Uebelhart (Swi) Forno d'Asolo Colavita    
44 Moriah MacGregor (Can) Colavita ESPN    
45 Hsiao Chia Tseng (Tpe) Axman Team Taiwan    
46 Myriam Gaudreault (Can) Real Deal Racing La Bicicleta    
47 Caroline Ryan (Irl) West Quebec Wheelers    
48 Whitney Gaggioli (USA) Forno d'Asolo Colavita    
49 Shara Gillow (Aus) GreenEdge - AIS    
50 Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Canada National Team    
51 Gabrielle Pilote-Fortin (Can) Equipe du Quebec    
52 Ho Hsiung Huang (Tpe) Axman Team Taiwan    
53 Véronique Fortin (Can) TIBCO - To The Top    
54 Fabiana Luperini (Ita) Faren Honda Team    
55 Carolyn Cartmill (Can) Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery 0:00:37  
56 Myfanwy Galloway (Aus) Faren Honda Team 0:00:45  
57 Kathleen Billington (USA) Vanderkitten Focus 0:00:46  
58 Kathryn Donovan (USA) Colavita ESPN 0:00:48  
59 Claudia Häusler (Ger) GreenEdge - AIS    
60 Rhae-Christie Shaw (Can) Canada National Team 0:01:14  
61 Bridie O'Donnell (Aus) Vanderkitten Focus 0:01:36  
62 Jessie MacLean (Aus) GreenEdge - AIS 0:01:38  
63 Joanie Caron (Can) Colavita ESPN 0:02:34  
64 Kristine Wander (USA) PK Express Biemme 0:03:50  
65 Annie Ewart (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:04:01  
66 Yu Hsuan Lee (Tpe) Axman Team Taiwan 0:07:09  
67 Melissa Hoskins (Aus) GreenEdge - AIS 0:09:52  
68 Alexis Rhodes (Aus) GreenEdge - AIS    
69 Cathy Zeglinski (Can) Kallisto Wheels of Oakville 0:12:34  
70 Candice Vermeulen (Can) Canada National Team 0:16:42  
71 Kristin Lotito (USA) West Quebec Wheelers    
72 Julie Lafrenière (Can) Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery    
73 Véronique Drapeau-Zgoralski (Can) Specialized Mazda-SGC    
74 Alizée Brien (Can) Equipe du Quebec 0:16:48  
75 Laura Haapamaki (Can) PK Express Biemme    
76 Heather Shearer (Can) Infinit Nutrition Cycle Power 0:16:50  
77 Audrey Labrie (Can) Canada National Team 0:16:53  
Back to top