Hosking wins 2018 Women's Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race

Second for Elvin with Bronzini rounding out the podium

Targeting the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race since November, Chloe Hosking (Alé Cipollini) executed her plan to perfection by taking out the race ahead of Gracie Elvin (Mitchelton-Scott) and Giorgia Bronzini (Cylance).

The Australian rider kept her cool in the finale as the reduced peloton caught the late attackers, launching her sprint with 300 metres to go for her biggest win yet on home soil.

While Hosking's director doubted her ability to get over the challenging Challambra climb, the 27-year-old proved her doubters wrong to set up the win with a strong climb. Following the podium celebrations, Hosking explained the run to the line.

"I was saying into my radio 'is Giorgia Bronzini here?' because if she comes to the end of a bike race she is dangerous," said Hosking, who recently won the final stage of the Santos Women's Tour.

"That is the wheel I would have been looking for in a sprint. I didn't have any information so I found Gracie Elvin's wheel and she had two teammates left. They kept the pace high and then I was just surfing wheels in the last two kay. I jumped early and the others couldn't come over me."

The win also secured qualification for April's Commonwealth Games, giving Hosking the opportunity to add to her bronze medal from 2010. First, she will line out at the Herald Sun Tour next week and bring a curtain down on the Australian summer of racing.

The early phases

Warm conditions and sunshine greeted the peloton Saturday morning as riders assembled in the adjacent Steampacket Gardens for the team presentation prior to race start.

Once the flag was dropped, Lisa Morzenti (BePink) led off the first attack to begin an aggressive start to the race. Following the early skirmish, a crash via a touch of wheels brought down numerous riders in the bunch, Roxane Knetemann's day ending with an ambulance ride to a local hospital.

Shortly after the crash, Georgia Whitehouse of Sydney Uni-Staminade forced her way clear as the solo leader on the road, 30 seconds to the good once the race hit the coastline. Whitehouse doubled her advantage to one minute as a second crash took place in the peloton. Morzenti though jumped out to chase down Whitehouse and blitzed past as the Sydney Uni rider lost her lead due to a mechanical. As the lead to the peloton was over three minutes, Morzenti waited for Whitehouse, regrouping then pressing on as a duo.

The peloton slowly chipped away at the lead of the duo on the trip back into Geelong and then ended the breakaway 30km shy of the finish line. Entering Geelong, the race kicked into life, with Mitchelton-Scott dropping the hammer. On Challambra, the selection was made as Sabrina Stultiens (Waowdeals) then Molly Weaver (Trek-Drops) forced a move.

Katrin Garfoot (Kordamentha-Australia) and Annemiek van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) followed, with Garfoot leading over the top of Challambra. Garfoot, Van Vleuten and Stultiens then joined up for the descent into the Steampacket Gardens. At 6km to go, Stultiens went for gold but the chasing bunch reeled her in inside one kilometre to race, setting up the bunch sprint finish.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Chloe Hosking (Aus) Ale - Cipollini3:15:54 
2Gracie Elvin (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott  
3Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling  
4Audrey Cordon Ragot (Fra) Wiggle High5  
5Katarzyna Pawlowska (Pol) Team Virtu Cycling  
6Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Kordamentha Real Estate -Australia  
7Sharlotte Lucas (NZl) Specialized Women's Racing  
8Kate McIlroy (NZl) Specialized Women's Racing  
9Amy Cure (Aus) Wiggle High5  
10Anouska Koster (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling  
11Rossella Ratto (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling  
12Lucy Bechtel (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing  
13Katrin Garfoot (Aus) Kordamentha Real Estate -Australia  
14Eva Buurman (Ned) Trek-Drops  
15Brodie Chapman (Aus) Holden Team Gusto  
16Grace Brown (Aus) Holden Team Gusto  
17Shannon Malseed (Aus) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank  
18Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott  
19Kathrin Hammes (Ger) Trek-Drops  
20Linda Villumsen (NZl) Team Virtu Cycling  
21Rachel Neylan (Aus) Kordamentha Real Estate -Australia  
22Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton-Scott0:00:22 
23Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling  
24Emma Grant (GBr) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank0:00:48 
25Sarah Roy (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott0:01:13 
26Grace Anderson (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
27Erica Clevenger (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air T20  
28Lydia Rippon (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
29Karlijn Swinkels (Ned) Ale - Cipollini  
30Riejanne Markus (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling  
31Abigail Van Twisk (GBr) Trek-Drops  
32Georgia Williams (NZl) Mitchelton-Scott  
33Ella Harris (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
34Eri Yonamine (Jpn) Wiggle High5  
35Alice Cobb (GBr) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank  
36Ella Bloor (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing  
37Erica Magnaldi (Ita) Bepink  
38Tayler Wiles (USA) Trek-Drops  
39Molly Weaver (GBr) Trek-Drops0:01:21 
40Shayna Powless (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air T200:02:59 
41Jeanne Korevaar (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling  
42Marlies Mejias Garcia (Cub) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air T20  
43Annette Edmondson (Aus) Wiggle High50:03:14 
44Rachele Barbieri (Ita) Wiggle High5  
45Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Kordamentha Real Estate -Australia  
46Jenelle Crooks (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott  
47Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Team Virtu Cycling  
48Maria Vittoria Sperotto (Ita) Bepink  
49Soraya Paladin (Ita) Ale - Cipollini  
50Mayuko Hagiwara (Jpn) Ale - Cipollini  
51Matilda Reynolds (Aus) Holden Team Gusto0:03:38 
52Kate Smith (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
53Katia Ragusa (Ita) Bepink  
54Francesca Pattaro (Ita) Bepink  
55Kendall Ryan (USA) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank  
56Kendelle Hodges (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing  
57Lauretta Hanson (Aus) Kordamentha Real Estate -Australia  
58Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling  
59Anna Trevisi (Ita) Ale - Cipollini  
60Mikayla Harvey (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
61Emilie Moberg (Nor) Team Virtu Cycling  
62Jelena Eric (Srb) Cylance Pro Cycling  
63Rotem Gafinovitz (Isr) Waowdeals Pro Cycling  
64Trine Schmidt (Den) Team Virtu Cycling  
65Peta Mullens (Aus) Kordamentha Real Estate -Australia  
66Liza Rachetto (Aus) Holden Team Gusto  
67Annasley Park (GBr) Trek-Drops  
68Danielle Morshead (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air T20  
69Louise Norman Hansen (Den) Team Virtu Cycling  
70Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling0:06:37 
71Holly Breck (USA) Cylance Pro Cycling  
72Scotti Lechuga (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air T20  
73Jade Colligan (Aus) Sydney Uni - Staminade0:10:45 
74Abby Sneddon (Aus) Sydney Uni - Staminade  
75Amy Vesty (NZl) Sydney Uni - Staminade  
76Georgia Whitehouse (Aus) Sydney Uni - Staminade  
77Angela Smith (Aus) Sydney Uni - Staminade  
78Megan Scott (Aus) Sydney Uni - Staminade  
79Kathryn Buss (USA) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank  
80Rylee McMullen (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
81Kate Perry (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing  
82Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) Bepink  
OTLAlison Jackson (Can) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank  
OTLLisa Morzenti (Ita) Bepink  
DNFRoxane Knetemann (Ned) Ale - Cipollini  
DNFLauren Stephens (USA) Cylance Pro Cycling  
DNSErin Kinnealy (Aus) Holden Team Gusto  


Related Articles

Back to top