Porte leads WorldTour standings

Team Sky and Australia top team and nation standings

After the first three WorldTour events of 2015, Richie Porte occupies top spot on the individual rankings with a commanding tally of 198 points. Porte's overall win at Paris-Nice and second place at the Tour Down Under has seen the Australian already double his 2014 points tally, helping his Sky team and Australia also take the lead in the other standings. Porte has also won two stages at Paris-Nice and one stage at the Tour Down Under.

Second and third on the individual standings are the other two winners of WorldTour events this season. Rohan Dennis (BMC), Tour Down Under champion and world hour record holder, is on 114 points while the recent winner of Tirreno-Adriatico, Nairo Quintana (Movistar) is on 106 points.

World champion Michał Kwiatkowski (Etixx-Quick Step) and Bauke Mollema (Trek) are fourth and fifth on the standings after finishing second overall at Paris-Nice and Tirreno-Adriatico respectively.

Due to Porte's large points tally, Team Sky sit top of the team standings on 290 points with Geraint Thomas (54 points) and Wout Poels (36) also making contributions. The first leaders of the team standings, BMC drop to third in 199 points as Movistar leap frogged them into second with 206 points. Etixx-Quick Step are the only other team to recorded more than 100 points while Cannondale-Garmin is the only team not to have posted a single point after 21 days of WorldTour racing.

Australia continues to lead the nation standings with a bumper tally of 403 points, more than double that of the second placed Colombia on 191 points. The main contributors to Australia's tally are Porte, Dennis and the now retired Cadel Evans (BMC) who was third overall at the Tour Down Under.

Rigoberto Urán (Etixx-Quick Step) and Quintana are the two large contributors for Colombia with Jarlinson Pantano (IAM Cycling) chipping in with 10 points.

The winners of Tour Down Under, Paris-Nice and Tirreno-Adriatico were all awarded 100 points with six points awarded to stage winners.

The next race on the WorldTour calendar is the first monument of the season, Milan-San Remo, with 100 points also on offer for the winner.

WorldTour standings

#Rider Name (Country) TeamPoints
1Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky198 pts
2Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team114 
3Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team106 
4Michał Kwiatkowski (Pol) Etixx-Quick Step89 
5Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing84 
6Simon Špilak (Slo) Team Katusha78 
7Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team76 
8Rigoberto Urán (Col) Etixx-Quick Step75 
9Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida64 
10Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Giant-Alpecin64 
11Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ60 
12Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale60 
13Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky54 
14Rubén Fernández (Esp) Movistar Team52 
15Alberto Contador (Esp) Tinkoff-Saxo51 
16Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto-Soudal46 
17Daryl Impey (RSA) Orica-GreenEdge39 
18Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky36 
19Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana32 
20Gorka Izagirre (Esp) Movistar Team32 
21Rafael Valls (Esp) Lampre-Merida21 
22Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo14 
23Fabian Cancellara (Sui) Trek Factory Racing11 
24Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge10 
25Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling10 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamPoints
1Team Sky290 pts
3BMC Racing Team199 
4Etixx-Quick Step170 
5Trek Factory Racing98 
7Team Katusha91 
12Ag2r-La Mondiale63 
15IAM Cycling17 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamPoints
1Australia403 pts
10Great Britain64 
11South Africa39 


Related Articles

Back to top