TechPowered By

More tech

Belgian selection for Cross Worlds announced

Cycling News
January 16, 2012, 19:50 GMT,
January 16, 2012, 19:54 GMT
First Edition Cycling News, Tuesday, January 17, 2012
The elite men's podium: Niels Albert, Sven Nys and Rob Peeters

The elite men's podium: Niels Albert, Sven Nys and Rob Peeters

view thumbnail gallery

National coach De Bie snubs Nys' teammate Vanthourenhout

The Belgian cycling federation has released the names of the seven riders that will represent the country at the upcoming UCI Cyclo-Cross Worlds in Koksijde, on January 29. National coach Rudy De Bie selected Sven Nys, Niels Albert, Kevin Pauwels, Klaas Vantornout, Rob Peeters, Bart Aernouts and Tom Meeusen.

Sven Vanthourenhout, Nys' teammate at Landbouwkrediet, was not selected even though Nys had explicitly asked for his integration in the Worlds team. "At the Worlds, less competitive riders will be dropped anyway as soon as the favourites accelerate,' De Bie told Sportwereld. "Rob Peeters has proved at the most recent races that he deserves to be in the selection."

Peeters finished third-placed at the Belgian Championships where Nys reclaimed his title, and teammate Vanthourenhout got fourth.

Back to top