Ag2r-La Mondiale announce Tour Down Under team

Pozzovivo, Riblon and Kadri selected for Australian race

Ag2r La Mondiale have named a strong Tour Down Under team with three grand tour stage winners in Domenico Pozzovivo, Blel Kadri and Christophe Riblon all featuring at the first WorldTour race of the season.

"It’s the ideal race to start the season," team director Laurent Biondi said. "All the conditions, including the hotel, the race, and the course are amazing."

Biondi explained the team are looking for a good overall result at the race with the inclusion of Pozzovivo.

"Our 2015 roster is ambitious with Domenico Pozzovivo, fifth in the 2014 Giro, Blel Kadri, stage winner in 2014 Tour de France and Christophe Riblon, winner of l’Alpe d’Huez stage in the 2013 Tour (de France),” Biondi said.

The French team will make its 17th appearance at the race, the only team to have competed at every edition since it begun in 1999, winning the overall classification on four occasions and twice winning the team classification. 

"Ag2r La Mondiale is such a strong and competitive team, producing Santos Tour Down Under winners Gilles Maignan in 2000, Mikel Astarloza in 2003, Australia’s Simon Gerrans in 2006 and Martin Elmiger in 2007,” South Australian tourism minister Leon Bignell said.

"The team sets solid foundations with their riders - look at the success Simon Gerrans has had since his first win in Adelaide. He’s the only rider to have won the Santos Tour Down Under three times."

Ag2r-La Mondaile for the 2015 Tour Down Under: Julien Berard, Alex Domont, Samuel Dumoulin, Alexis Gougeard, Blel Kadri, Domenico Pozzovivo and Christophe Riblon.

Related Articles

Back to top