US 'cross world's selections

Following the completion of the 2006 USA Cycling Cyclo-cross National Championships this past weekend in Providence, Rhode Island, five athletes earned automatic nominations to represent the United States at the 2007 UCI cyclo-cross world championships in Hooglede-Gits, Belgium on January 27-28. USA Cycling then announced twelve discretionary nominations for the team . Discretionary nominations were made based on petitions by athletes who met specific performance standards throughout the 2006 season.

Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./Spike)
Georgia Gould (Ketchum, Idaho/Luna)
Christine Vardaros (Lotto-Belisol)
Kerry Barnholt (Tokyo Joe's-Maxiss)
Deidre Winfield (Velo Bella-Kona)
Rhonda Mazza (Team S&M-Vanilla Bicycles)

U23 Men
Jesse Anthony (Beverly Mass./Clif Bar)
Jamey Driscoll (Jericho, Vt./FiordiFrutta)
Bjorn Selander (Alan Factory Team)
Chance Noble (California Giant Strawberries-Specialized)
Nick Weighall (Alan Factory Team)
Dan Neyens (Hagens-Berman LLP)

Junior Men
Danny Summerhill (Centennial, Colo./TIAA CREF-Clif Bar)
Nicholas Keough (CL Noonan-Coast to Coast-KAM)
Sean Worsech (Rad Racing NW)
Jerome Townsend (Alan Factory Team)
Carson Miller (Fred Miller-Lakeside)

Automatic selections for the elite men's category will be announced January 9th and discretionary picks January 10th.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1