Skip to main content

European 'cross champions crowned

The European cyclo-cross champions in three categories were crowned on Sunday in Liévin, France. Germany won two titles with Hanka Kupfernagel in the women's category and Philippe Walsleben in the U23 race. Dutch junior Tijmen Eising took the third title given out on the day.

Kupfernagel is back on regular form after a season plagued by sickness and won the women's race three seconds ahead of France's Maryline Salvetat. Katerina Nash (Czech Republic) was a further ten seconds back in third spot.

In the U23 race, Walsleben took a convincing victory, one day after prevailing in the extremely difficult conditions at the Koppenbergcross. Like in the women's event a rider from the host nation finished second, with Aurélien Duval. Duval was already 56 seconds behind, while Kenneth Van Compernolle from Belgium in third trailed by 1:04.

Eising won with 11 seconds over his compatriot Lars Van Der Haar, with Belgian's Sean De Bie 16 seconds back in third. The rain had made the parcours difficult, but it wasn't quite the mudfest as most racers endured the previous day at the Koppenbergcross.