Ferrari fires on all cylinders at Friuli

Italian's horsepower secures strong sprint victory

Italy's Roberto Ferrari (De Rosa-Stac Plastic) won the Giro del Friuli one-day race in Italy on Wednesday with another strong sprint finish.

The 27 year-old from Brescia won the GP di Lugano on Sunday. That race was affected by traffic problems and only a handful of riders finished but Ferrari proved he is on form by beating fellow Italians Jacopo Guarnieri (Liquigas-Diomo) and Enrico Rossi (Ceramica Flaminia) at the Giro del Friuli.

Another promising young Italian Sacha Modolo (Colnago-CSF Inox) was fourth and Italian national champion Filippo Pozzato (Katusha) was fifth. Andy Schleck (Saxo Bank) and Franco Pellizotti (Liquigas-Doimo) both made their season debut in the one-day race in the northeast of Italy. Schleck failed to finish, while Pellizotti was 62nd, a few placed behind teammate Ivan Basso.

Pozzato had chased after a late attack on the final climb of the race but admitted he miss-timed his sprint.

"I started the sprint too far out. But to be honest I didn't have the power in my legs to win. I'm still working on my power but I felt good today, especially on the climb."

Late crash affects Lampre sprint

The 190km race started in Brugnera near Pordernone and ended in nearby Sacile after five laps of a hilly finishing circuit. Before the start a minutes silence was held to remember Italian national coach Franco Ballerini who died in a recent car rally accident.

The racing started steady as the peloton covered two circuits around Brugnera. Things heated up after Fontanafredda, with 24 riders going clear before the first passage of the finish in Sacile. The climb to Castello di Caneva lined out the break and the bunch but the gap stayed to just over a minute. The bigger teams not well represented in the move did not want to let them get away.

On the fifth of six laps, on the climb up to the castle, the 24 split under the pressure, with 19 riders going clear. Last time up the climb, neo-pro Fabio Taborre (Androni Giocattoli) surged clear and opened a ten-second gap on Pozzato. But the bunch knew the race would finish in a sprint, with the Liquigas and Lampre teams leading the pursuit.

Lampre were riding for 2009 winner Mirco Lorenzetto but he was blocked when a rider crashed in front of him with just 400 metres to go. Ferrari avoided the crash and had the speed down the middle of the road to beat Guarnieri and Rossi.

Full Results
1 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic 4:38:09  
2 Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo    
3 Enrico Rossi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia    
4 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
5 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Team Katusha    
6 Luca Paolini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
7 Tiziano Dall'antonia (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo    
8 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
9 Marko Kump (Slo) Adria Mobil    
10 Jure Kocjan (Slo) Carmiooro NGC    
11 Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo    
12 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
13 Mirco Lorenzetto (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
14 Matti Breschel (Den) Team Saxo Bank    
15 Daniele Colli (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia    
16 Kristijan Koren (Slo) Liquigas-Doimo    
17 Giuseppe Palumbo (Ita) Acqua & Sapone    
18 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne    
19 Blaz Furdi (Slo) Sava    
20 Martin Pedersen (Den) Footon-Servetto    
21 Fabio Taborre (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
22 Mauro Finetto (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo    
23 Jan Tratnik (Slo) Zheroquadro Radenska    
24 Didac Ortega (Spa) Acqua & Sapone    
25 David Tratnik (Slo) Zheroquadro Radenska    
26 Iban Mayoz Echeverria (Spa) Footon-Servetto    
27 Radoslav Rogina (Cro) Loborika    
28 Luca Ascani (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere    
29 Marco Frapporti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
30 Thomas Bertolini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
31 Marcello Pavarin (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
32 Diego Alejandro Tamayo Martinez (Col) Carmiooro NGC    
33 Pablo Lastras Garcia (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne    
34 Ermanno Capelli (Ita) Footon-Servetto    
35 Grega Bole (Slo) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
36 Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne    
37 Alberto Contoli (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
38 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Caisse d'Epargne    
39 Edwin Carvajal Jaramillo (Col) Miche    
40 Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) Caisse d'Epargne    
41 Oleg Berdos (Mda) De Rosa - Stac Plastic    
42 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Caisse d'Epargne    
43 Xabier Zandio Echaide (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne    
44 Rubens Bertogliati (Swi) Androni Giocattoli    
45 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Team Katusha    
46 Vladimir Miholjevic (Cro) Acqua & Sapone    
47 Vladimir Kerkez (Slo) Sava    
48 Simon Spilak (Slo) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
49 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Miche    
50 Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
51 Claudio Corioni (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic    
52 Serguei Klimov (Rus) Team Katusha    
53 Mauro Da Dalto (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
54 Jure Golcer (Slo) De Rosa - Stac Plastic    
55 Giampaolo Cheula (Ita) Footon-Servetto    
56 Eros Capecchi (Ita) Footon-Servetto    
57 Michael Rasmussen (Den) Miche    
58 Alfredo Balloni (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
59 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo    
60 Simone Stortoni (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
61 Marco Bandiera (Ita) Team Katusha    
62 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo    
63 Davide Cimolai (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo    
64 Carlo Scognamiglio (Ita) ISD - Neri 0:01:00  
65 Bernardo Colex Tepoz (Mex) Amore & Vita - Conad    
66 Mitja Mahoric (Slo) Adria Mobil    
67 Fabrice Piemontesi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
68 Edoardo Girardi (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia    
69 Volodymyr Starchyk (Ukr) Amore & Vita - Conad    
70 Chris Sörensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank    
71 Kristjan Fajt (Slo) Adria Mobil    
72 Marco Corti (Ita) Footon-Servetto    
73 Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia    
74 Egor Silin (Rus) Team Katusha    
75 Emanuel Vona (Ita) ISD - Neri    
76 Davide D'angelo (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere    
77 Marino Palandri (Ita) Adria Mobil    
78 Dmytro Krivtsov (Ukr) ISD - Neri    
79 Rafai Chtioui (Tun) Acqua & Sapone    
80 Cristiano Fumagalli (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia    
81 Matej Stare (Slo) Sava    
82 Gasper Svab (Slo) Sava    
83 Alberto Di Lorenzo (Ita) Zheroquadro Radenska    
84 Uros Silar (Slo) Sava    
85 Hrvoje Miholjevic (Cro) Loborika    
86 Junya Sano (Jpn) Team Nippo    
87 Noe Gianetti (Swi) Footon-Servetto    
88 Dean Podgornik (Slo) Loborika    
89 Enrico Magazzini (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
90 Matteo Bono (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini    
91 Enrico Zen (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox    
92 Pasquale Muto (Ita) Miche    
93 Uros Murn (Slo) Adria Mobil    
94 Bostjan Rezman (Slo) Zheroquadro Radenska 0:01:35  
95 Mariusz Wiesiak (Pol) Team Nippo    
96 Nik Burjek (Slo) Sava    
97 Luca Barla (Ita) Team Nippo    
98 Marco Cattaneo (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic    
99 Luigi Gitto (Ita) Miche    
100 Damiano Margutti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli    
101 Gustav Larsson (Swe) Team Saxo Bank    
102 Danilo Andrenacci (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere    
103 Claudio Cucinotta (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic    
104 Pavel Brutt (Rus) Team Katusha    
105 Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus) Team Katusha    
106 Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Team Katusha    
107 Konstantin Volik (Uzb) Amore & Vita - Conad    
108 Maxim Belkov (Rus) ISD - Neri    
109 Aristide Ratti (Ita) Carmiooro NGC    
110 Cristiano Colombo (Ita) Kalev Chocolate Team - Kuota    
111 Fabrizio Lucciola (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia    
112 Mirko Battaglini (Ita) Team Nippo    
113 Kazuo Inoue (Jpn) Team Nippo    
114 Andi Bajc (Slo) Zheroquadro Radenska    
Back to top