Rabobank names TDU squad

Podium kisses for new Tour leader

Podium kisses for new Tour leader (Image credit: Shane Goss)

An Australian and Dutch line-up from the Rabobank team aims to make their mark at the 2009 Tour Down Under.

Lead Rabobank rider Graeme Brown has a long history with the Tour Down Under and Race Director Mike Turtur tips him as a cyclist to look out for in the peloton with his strength as a sprinter.

"Graeme Brown will be one to watch in the sprints, after finishing fourth overall in the sprint classification in the 2008 Tour Down Under," said Mike Turtur. "He will aggressively chase all the points he can for the SA Lotteries Sprint jersey."

Fellow Australian Mathew Hayman will return to the Tour Down Under after a crash on stage 4 of the 2008 event left him with a broken collarbone.

"Graeme and Mathew performed very well at the 2008 event and I am sure they will travel to Adelaide with the aim to win with the Rabobank team," said Turtur.

The Rabobank team line up for the 2009 Tour Down Under, led by Team Manager Adri Van Houwelingen, is Graeme Brown (Aus), Bram De Groot (Ned), Mathew Hayman (Aus), Jos Van Emden (Ned), Rick Flens (Ned), Tom Leezer (Ned) and Kai Reus (Ned).

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1