Liquigas announce Tour team

(Image credit: undefined)

Liquigas revealed to Cyclingnews today its full nine-man roster the Tour de France, July 4 to 26.

As expected Vincenzo Nibali and Roman Kreuziger will co-captain the Italian squad. "The objective is to try to win a stage at least. Our goal will be to put Nibali and Kreuziger in the the top ten overall. This is within their grasp," said Amadio.

Daniele Bennati will be Liquigas’ man on the flatter stages of this year’s Tour route.

A notable absence from the nine man list is Sylvester Szmyd. The Polish rider recently won the stage to Mont Ventoux at this year’s Dauphiné Libéré. Amadio indicated that Szmyd would instead focus upon objectives later in the season.

"He is not doing the Tour because he did the Giro and then will ride the Vuelta a España with Basso. We have a big programme for the team and we have to divide up the team for our ambitions. We are going to the Vuelta on an important mission for Basso in the classification."

Liquigas’ nine-man team for the Tour de France will be: Daniele Bennati, Vincenzo Nibali, Franco Pellizotti, Roman Kreuziger, Fabio Sabatini, Aliaksandr Kuschynski, Alessandro Vanotti, Fredrik Willems and Brian Bach Vandborg. (GB)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1