Skip to main content

51st Lincoln GP

The 51st edition of the Lincoln Grand Prix Cycle Race organised by the Velo Club Lincoln and Lincoln City Council will be held on Sunday May 7, 2006 in Lincolnshire, United Kingdom. This year's race course will be slightly revised with the distance reduced by two laps to 86 miles.

The entry list features two strong foreign teams from Australia (Team FRF Couriers) and Ireland (Team Murphy & Gunn) but they will be up against the best of British competition over the usual 8 mile circuit and 11 ascents of the Michaelgate climb which can be guaranteed to sort out who are the main contenders as the laps progress.

Commonwealth Games Gold Medallists Rob Hayles and Chris Newton will be back at the event. Newton won the race six years ago in 2000, whilst Hayles had bad luck last year when he was forced to abandon with mechanical problems. Other previous winners in the 128 strong field are Malcolm Elliott (1983) and Kevin Dawson (1996). Russell and Dean Downing, first and second last year, will not be present, but Elliott has vowed to win the event again 23 years after his first victory!

The Grand Prix is a counting event in the season long British Cycling Premier Calendar and the current top three riders in the competition, Kristian House, Matthew Stephens and Ben Greenwood are also on the start list.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1