TechPowered By

More tech

UCI Track World Championships 2010

Date range:
March 24-28, 2010

March 25, Session 2: Men: Individual Pursuit Qualifying, Keirin Round 1; Women: Team Pursuit Qualifying

Sergent, Phinney to battle for gold in pursuit

Shane Stokes
March 25, 2010, 14:54 GMT,
March 26, 2010, 1:39 GMT

Bobridge misses the gold medal final

Taylor Phinney (USA) was just over a tenth of a second behind Sergent in second.

Taylor Phinney (USA) was just over a tenth of a second behind Sergent in second.

view thumbnail gallery

Many saw this year’s individual pursuit to be a likely battle between Taylor Phinney and Jack Bobridge, the first dominating last year’s championships and the second recording a blistering 4.14.27 in February, but Jesse Sergent tore that script up when he was quickest in today’s qualification round.

Sergent (New Zealand) set the fastest time of 4.15.988, beating his Trek-Livestrong team-mate Phinney (USA) by 0.114 in the last of the heats. The American was almost a second off his personal best and US record set at last years worlds.

Bobridge (Australia) was quickest of all the riders at 2000 and 3000 metres, but his pace tailed off slightly at the finish. He was the provisional leader but dropped to third after Sergent and Phinney scrapped it out.

His 4.17.169 beat the 4.18.356 of Alexander Serov (Russia), setting them up for a fight-off for bronze this evening.

Fifth and sixth went to Dennis Rohan (Australia) and Vitaliy Schedov (Ukraine).

Past champions through to next round of men’s keirin

Three former winners of the world championship keirin successfully progressed to this evening’s second round of the contest, with defending champion Maximillian Levy, 2007/2008 victor Chris Hoy and the 2005 victor Teun Mulder all qualifying this afternoon.

Britain’s Matt Crampton and Levy (Germany) were the two quickest in the first heat, while Francois Pervis (France) and the Kiki Sam Webster progressed in the second. Malaysian rider Azizulhasni Awang led Mulder (Netherlands) over the line in heat three.

However Awang’s compatriot Josiah Ng Onn Lam was involved in controversy in the final of the four heats, cutting across Hoy at the start and sending the Briton crashing to the ground. Following a short delay for the commissaires to check video footage, he was disqualified.

Hoy showed there was no lingering effects from his spill when he raced to victory in the restarted heat four. He was a long way back with two laps to go but thundered to the front in the finishing straight, showing that he means business.

Those who did not qualify will have a second chance this evening when the repechages are held.

Australia tops women's team pursuit

The Australian team put itself into a prime position to take home its third gold medal when the women's pursuit team rocketed to the fastest qualifying time over the team from Great Britain.

Despite being a young squad, with 19-year old Ashlee Ankudinoff and 20-year-olds Sarah Kent and former junior world champion Josephine Tomic, the Australians managed to top the Brits by 3 tenths of a second.

The New Zealand team was shut out of the gold medal final by 36 thousands of a second, denying former pursuit champion Alison Shanks a chance to don another rainbow jersey.

The Kiwis will face the team from the USA in the bronze medal final tonight.

Men's Individual Pursuit - Qualifying

1 Jesse Sergent (New Zealand) 0:04:15.988  
2 Taylor Phinney (United States Of America) 0:04:16.102  
3 Jack Bobridge (Australia) 0:04:17.169  
4 Alexander Serov (Russian Federation) 0:04:18.356  
5 Rohan Dennis (Australia) 0:04:19.292  
6 Vitaliy Shchedov (Ukraine) 0:04:20.316  
7 Westley Gough (New Zealand) 0:04:20.685  
8 Lasse Norman Hansen (Denmark) 0:04:22.239  
9 Vitaliy Popkov (Ukraine) 0:04:22.999  
10 Juan Esteban Arango Carvajal (Colombia) 0:04:23.595  
11 Patrick Gretsch (Germany) 0:04:24.224  
12 David O'Loughlin (Ireland) 0:04:25.203  
13 Artur Ershov (Russian Federation) 0:04:25.352  
14 Marco Coledan (Italy) 0:04:26.267  
15 Levi Heimans (Netherlands) 0:04:26.405  
16 Arno Van Der Zwet (Netherlands) 0:04:26.677  
17 Ingmar De Poortere (Belgium) 0:04:27.400  
18 Albert Torres Barcelo (Spain) 0:04:28.327  
19 Jonathan Dufrasne (Belgium) 0:04:29.416  
20 King Lok Cheung (Hong Kong, China) 0:04:32.195  
21 Julien Morice (France) 0:04:33.391  
22 Gediminas Bagdonas (Lithuania) 0:04:33.590  
23 Jie Wang (People's Republic of China) 0:04:34.747  
24 Xiao Jiang (People's Republic of China) 0:04:38.331  
25 Magkoyras Neofytos Sakellaridis (Greece) 0:04:39.081  
26 Silvan Dillier (Switzerland) 0:04:47.445  
DSQ Alexey Kolessov (Kazakhstan)    

Men's Keirin - Round 1

Heat 1
1 Matthew Crampton (Great Britain) *    
2 Maximilian Levy (Germany) *    
3 Jason Niblett (Australia)    
4 Francesco Ceci (Italy)    
5 Charlie Conord (France)    
6 Zafeirios Volikakis (Greece)    
Heat 2
1 François Pervis (France) *    
2 Sam Webster (New Zealand) *    
3 Denis Spicka (Czech Republic)    
4 Kota Asai (Japan)    
5 Carsten Bergemann (Germany)    
6 Michael Thomson (South Africa)    
7 Kasper Lindholm Jessen (Denmark)    
Heat 3
1 Azizulhasni Awang (Malaysia) *    
2 Teun Mulder (Netherlands) *    
3 Christos Volikakis (Greece)    
4 Michael Seidenbecher (Germany)    
5 Simon Van Velthooven (New Zealand)    
6 Adam Ptacnik (Czech Republic)    
7 Kazunari Watanabe (Japan)    
Heat 4
1 Chris Hoy (Great Britain) *    
2 Shane Perkins (Australia) *    
3 Roy Van Den Berg (Netherlands)    
4 Andrii Vynokurov (Ukraine)    
5 Travis Smith (Canada)    
6 Saifei Bao (People's Republic of China)    
DSQ Josiah Ng Onn Lam (Malaysia)    
Women's Team Pursuit - Qualifying
1 Australia 0:03:23.161  
  Ashlee Ankudinoff    
  Sarah Kent    
  Josephine Tomic    
2 Great Britain 0:03:23.369  
  Elizabeth Armitstead    
  Wendy Houvenaghel    
  Joanna Rowsell    
3 New Zealand 0:03:24.405  
  Rushlee Buchanan    
  Lauren Ellis    
  Alison Shanks    
4 United States 0:03:24.661  
  Dotsie Bausch    
  Sarah Hammer    
  Lauren Tamayo    
5 Netherlands 0:03:25.156  
  Vera Koedooder    
  Amy Pieters    
  Ellen Van Dijk    
6 Canada 0:03:26.132  
  Laura Brown    
  Stephanie Roorda    
  Tara Whitten    
7 Germany 0:03:27.236  
  Charlotte Becker    
  Lisa Brennauer    
  Verena Joos    
8 Ukraine 0:03:27.662  
  Yelizaveta Bochkarova    
  Svitlana Galyuk    
  Lesya Kalitovska    
9 Belgium 0:03:27.690  
  Jessie Daams    
  Jolien D'Hoore    
  Kelly Druyts    
10 China 0:03:28.194  
  Fan Jiang    
  Wenwen Jiang    
  Jing Liang    
11 Russia 0:03:28.644  
  Tatiana Antoshina    
  Anastasia Chulkova    
  Victoria Kondel    
12 Poland 0:03:32.035  
  Edyta Jasinska    
  Katarzyna Pawlowska    
  Malgorzata Wojtyra    
13 France 0:03:32.199  
  Sophie Creux    
  Fiona Dutriaux    
  Pascale Jeuland    
14 Italy 0:03:34.329  
  Monia Baccaille    
  Tatiana Guderzo    
  Marta Tagliaferro    
DSQ Lithuania    
  Svetlana Pauliukaite    
  Vilija Sereikaite    
  Ausrine Trebaite    

 Men's Keirin - Round 1 Repechages

1 Simon Van Velthooven (New Zealand) *    
2 Denis Spicka (Czech Republic)    
3 Andrii Vynokurov (Ukraine)    
4 Michael Thomson (South Africa)    
Heat 2
1 Jason Niblett (Australia) *    
2 Travis Smith (Canada)    
3 Francesco Ceci (Italy)    
4 Kasper Lindholm Jessen (Denmark)    
REL Adam Ptacnik (Czech Republic)    
Heat 3
1 Michael Seidenbecher (Germany) *    
2 Christos Volikakis (Greece)    
3 Kazunari Watanabe (Japan)    
4 Charlie Conord (France)    
5 Saifei Bao (People's Republic of China)    
Heat 4
1 Kota Asai (Japan) *    
2 Carsten Bergemann (Germany)    
3 Zafeirios Volikakis (Greece)    
4 Roy Van Den Berg (Netherlands)