TechPowered By

More tech

Women's Prestige Cycling Series set for 2007

Shane Stokes
March 01, 2007, 0:00 GMT,
April 22, 2009, 19:54 BST
First Edition Cycling News for March 1, 2007
The Pro Women 1/2 field

The Pro Women 1/2 field

view thumbnail gallery

After a year's hiatus, the Redlands Bicycle Classic in California will return as the kickoff race...

After a year's hiatus, the Redlands Bicycle Classic in California will return as the kickoff race launching the four-race Women's Prestige Cycling Series. The series continues with the Nature Valley Grand Prix (June 20 - 24) and the International Tour de 'Toona (July 23 - 29) before wrapping up with the CD&P Bermuda Grand Prix on September 20 - 23. The top ten teams following the International Tour de Toona will receive housing and a travel subsidy to attend the Bermuda finale.

Kristin Armstrong (TEAm Lipton) is expected back to defend her 2006 individual title along with 2005 champion Christine Thorburne (Webcor - Platinum).

In the best young rider competition, Canadian Alex Wrubleski (Colavita) is the clear favorite after last year's winner and runner up Katharine Carroll (Victory Brewing) and Erinne Willock (Webcor - Platinum) are now "too old" for this U26 division. Wrubleski, who claimed the Best Young Rider jersey at the Nature Valley Grand Prix, also won two Canadian National Championships and is a rider to watch in both the young rider competition and for the overall series.

Brooke Miller (TIBCO), the recent winner of the Santa Clarita Grand Prix, was the surprise winner of the sprint competition in 2006. She burst onto the national scene last year with her win at the Nature Valley Grand Prix's Cannon Falls Road Race, going on to claim that race's sprint jersey. She will return to defend her crown in 2007, but is likely to be in the crosshairs of veteran sprinters such as Laura Van Gilder (Cheerwine) and Tina Pic (Colavita).

Team transfers in the off season leave the team competition wide open. Webcor - Platinum took over TEAm Lipton last year, but star rider Laura Van Gilder moved from Litpon to Cheerwine and Erinne Willock moved from Webcor - Platinum to Team

Back to top