TechPowered By

More tech

Papstein new German mountain champion

Greg Dillon
June 02, 2008, 0:00 BST,
April 20, 2009, 21:33 BST
Latest Cycling News, June 2, 2008

Björn Papstein is the new German mountain champion. The 3C-Profi won with a comfortable three-minute...

Björn Papstein is the new German mountain champion. The 3C-Profi won with a comfortable three-minute gap in the race in Passau/Bavaria. After 122 kilometres in 3h30'46", he beat his team captain, Holger Sievers, and Christoph Meschenmoser (Team Ista). "Today, everything went perfect," Papstein said after the hilly affair with 4200 vertical metres.

2005 German road champion Dirk Müller (Team Sparkasse) was the first to start the action, taking off in the fourth of ten laps. He never gained more than a minute and was caught with three laps to go. Then Papstein, who hails from the dead-flat northern part of the country, attacked and got away for good.

Defending champion Andreas Schillinger did not have a good day and ended up in 23rd spot.

Trixi Worrack won the women's title.

In the U23 race David Rösch from Team Rothaus had the best legs. In the race, which was held together with the men 's elite race, but scored separately, Rösch won the title with an advantage of 15 seconds over Florian Frohn (Team Thüringer Energie) and 49 seconds over Dominik Nerz (Team Ista). With the third place, Nerz took over in the Bundesliga ranking, with 395 points. Second is Erik Mohs from the Continental Milram team ( 372 points) and Mathias Belkam from Team Brandenburg (362 points). Team Thüringer Energie won the teams classification for the day ahead of Rothaus and Brandenburg. That allowed them to increase the lead in the Bundesliga teams standings

The junior titles were taken by Christopher Roth in the male category and Mona Eiberweiser for the females.

(Additional research and assistance provided by Susan Westemeyer).

Back to top