The Tour of California is an annual pro stage race, part of the UCI America Tour. It first took place in 2006, and typically covers between 650 to 750 miles through California. The race takes place in May, over eight days.

Tour of California 2019

Dates: May 12-18 2019
Stages: 7
Distance: 1,252.00 km / 777.96 miles


Now in its 11th year, the Tour of California has come of age since its beginning in 2006 when Floyd Landis, riding for Phonak, won the inaugural race.

In 2010, the eight-day race moved from February to its current spot on the calendar in May. That ushered in a new era of success as race owners AEG positioned the event as a tune-up event for the Tour de France.

Some riders also use the Tour of California to regain their form after the Spring Classics, but for others, especially Americans, the race is a top target. US riders have won six of the first 10 titles, with Levi Leipheimer claiming three of those in 2007, 2008 and 2009. Landis was the first winner, of course, with Chris Horner winning in 2011 and Tejay van Garderen taking the overall in 2013.

Australian Michael Rogers was the first foreign winner in 2010, with Dutchman Robert Gesink taking the title in 2012, Bradley Wiggins of Great Britain winning in 2014, and Slovakian Peter Sagan riding to an improbable overall victory in 2015.


Levi Leipheimer has the most wins to his name with three consecutive victories in 2007, 2008, and 2009.

Peter Sagan has the most stage victories (13 in total), followed by Mark Cavendish with 9.


Race History

Tour of California 2018

Dates: May 13-19, 2018
Stages: 7
Distance: 1,037.00 km / 644.36 miles

Tour of California 2017

Dates: May 14-20, 2017
Stages: 7
Distance: 935.00 km / 580.98 miles

Tour of California 2016

Dates: May 15-22, 2016
Stages: 8
Distance: 1,215.00 km / 754.97 miles

Tour of California 2015

Dates: May 10-17, 2015
Stages: 8
Distance: 1,128.00 km / 700.91 miles
Winner: Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo

Tour of California 2014

Dates: May 11-18, 2014
Stages: 8
Distance: 1,173.00 km / 728.87 miles
Winner: Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky

Tour of California 2013

Dates: May 12-19, 2013
Stages: 8
Distance: 1,170.00 km / 727.00 miles
Winner: Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team

Tour of California 2012

Dates: May 13-20, 2012
Stages: 8
Distance: 1,181.00 km / 733.84 miles
Winner: Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team

Tour of California 2011

Dates: May 15-22, 2011
Stages: 8
Distance: 1,134.00 km / 704.63 miles
Winner: Christopher Horner (USA) Team RadioShack

Tour of California 2010

Dates: May 16-23, 2010
Stages: 8
Distance: 1,295.00 km / 804.68 miles
Winner: Michael Rogers (Aus) Team HTC - Columbia
YearRider Name (Country) Team
2015Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo
2014Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky
2013Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team
2012Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank
2011Christopher Horner (USA) Team RadioShack
2010Michael Rogers (Aus) Team HTC-Columbia
2009Levi Leipheimer (USA) Astana
2008Levi Leipheimer (USA) Astana
2007Levi Leipheimer (USA) Discovery Channel
2006Floyd Landis (USA) Phonak Hearing Systems
Back to top