Australia's Digenis gaps field for stage win

Evans still leads heading into afternoon time trial

Irene Digenis (Prime Estate Team) won the Women’s Tour of New Zealand’s third stage, just seconds ahead of the peloton that failed to catch her. Behind Digenis, fellow breakaway riders Gayle Brownlee (Handy Rentals Team) and Yvette Hill-Willis (Litespeed Team) rounded out the podium places.

Brownlee followed an attack by Hill-Willis on the second of three laps in Ashhurst, after several previous breakaway attempts had been thwarted by the USA National Team of race leader Shelley Evans. The move was followed by Digenis and Sia Svendsen (Handy Rentals Team), which was a suitable combination for the peloton thanks to the two minute deficit on general classification to the nearest rider.

The peloton made a tactical error however in failing to time its catch of the leaders. It came up just metres short of the group, with race leader Evans sprinting strongly yet again toward the tail of the lead group but the line came too soon.

Evans’ run in the leader jersey will be tested this afternoon, with the peloton facing an 11 kilometre Individual Time Trial this afternoon.

1Irene Digenis (Aus) Prime Estate Team2:21:29 
2Yvette Hill-Willis (NZl) Litespeed Team0:00:04 
3Gayle Brownlee (NZl) Handy Rentals Team0:00:06 
4Sia Svendsen (NZl) Handy Rentals Team0:00:10 
5Shelley Evans (USA) USA National Team  
6Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Lotto Ladies Team  
7Kaytee Boyd (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
8Cherise Taylor (RSA) Nashua Ladies Pro Cycling Team  
9Lang Meng (Chn) Giant Racing Team  
10Kirsty Broun (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport  
11Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
12Ruth Corset (Aus) Nashua Ladies Pro Cycling Team  
13Karen Fulton (NZl) Litespeed Team  
14Davina Summers (RSA) Nashua Ladies Pro Cycling Team  
15Xin Liu (Chn) Giant Racing Team  
16Liza Rachetto (USA) R.A.C.E. Team  
17Sara Mustonen (Swe) Hitec Products UCK  
18Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport  
19Nicole Whitburn (Aus) Prime Estate Team  
20Ayako Toyooka (Jpn) Japan National Team  
21Carly Light (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport  
22Naila Hassan (NZl) Handy Rentals Team  
23Rie Katayama (Jpn) Japan National Team  
24Amanda Spratt (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport  
25Charlotte Van De Merwe (RSA) Nashua Ladies Pro Cycling Team  
26Yiu Wong Wan (HKg) Giant Racing Team  
27Laura Luxford (Aus) Australia NTID Team  
28Linda Villumsen (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
29Lisa Jacobs (Aus) Australia NTID Team  
30Rebecca Halliday (Aus) Australia NTID Team  
31Nimesha Smith (NZl) Lotto Ladies Team  
32Amber Neben (USA) USA National Team  
33Janel Holcomb (USA) USA National Team  
34Huili Gu (Chn) Giant Racing Team  
35Emily Collins (NZl) Cyclosport Team  
36Serena Sheridan (NZl) Cyclosport Team  
37Xiaoling Luo (Chn) Giant Racing Team  
38Masami Morita (Jpn) Japan National Team  
39Rebecca Locke (Aus) Prime Estate Team  
40Shara Gillow (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport  
41Toni Bradshaw (NZl) Litespeed Team  
42Kate Chilcott (NZl) BP Team  
43Alexandra Carle (Aus) Australia NTID Team  
44Lana King (NZl) Mercedes Benz Team  
45Tone Hatteland (Nor) Hitec Products UCK  
46Laura Medley (Aus) Mercedes Benz Team  
47Nathalie Lamborelle (Lux) Hitec Products UCK  
48Kristine Saastad (Nor) Hitec Products UCK  
49Mel Burke (NZl) Penny Cycling Team  
50Emma Crum (NZl) Cyclosport Team  
51Courteney Lowe (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
52Sarah Roy (Aus) Australia NTID Team  
53Josephine Tomic (Aus) Lotto Ladies Team  
54Rushlee Buchanan (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
55Emma Lawson (Aus) R.A.C.E. Team  
56Genevieve Whitson (NZl) BP Team  
57Tracy Best (NZl) Cyclosport Team  
58Rachel Mercer (NZl) Handy Rentals Team  
59Jessie Maclean (Aus) Nashua Ladies Pro Cycling Team  
60Janine Copp (NZl) Mercedes Benz Team  
61Min Gao (Chn) Giant Racing Team  
62Felicity Wilson (Aus) R.A.C.E. Team  
63Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Australian Institute of Sport  
64Rebecca Domange (Aus) R.A.C.E. Team  
65Kanako Nishi (Jpn) Japan National Team  
66Josephine Giddens (NZl) Litespeed Team  
67Kerri-Anne Torckler (NZl) BP Team  
68Jessica Phillips (USA) USA National Team  
69Carma Watson (NZl) Prime Estate Team  
70Vicki Whitelaw (Aus) Lotto Ladies Team  
71Jessica Jolly (NZl) Cyclosport Team0:00:23 
72Alison Starnes (USA) USA National Team0:00:31 
73Jeannie Kuhajek (NZl) Cyclosport Team0:00:54 
74Bronwyn Ryan (Aus) Australia NTID Team0:06:29 
75Chubby Hale (NZl) Penny Cycling Team0:15:21 
76Anna Kauffmann (Aus) Mercedes Benz Team  
77Kazumi Yoneda (Jpn) Ready Go Japan  
78Yukiyo Hori (Jpn) Ready Go Japan  
79Sakiko Sato (Jpn) Ready Go Japan  
80Tracy Clark (NZl) Penny Cycling Team  
81Eyelien Bekkering (Ned) BP Team  
82Waka Takeda (Jpn) Ready Go Japan0:17:28 
DNFAnna Stevenson (NZl) Penny Cycling Team  
General classification after stage 3
1Shelley Evans (USA) USA National Team  
Back to top