August 25 - September 16, Malaga, Spain , Road - GT

Latest from Vuelta a Espana 2018

The 2018 Vuelta a España is once again expected to be a tough edition, with nine summit finishes. Specifically, it will be a difficult second half, with six summit finishes held between eight stages.

This year's route will include two individual time trials. The Spanish Grand Tour will start on August 25 with an 8km individual time trial in Málaga, and the southern city will host the first three stages. The second time trial, 32km, is on stage 16 during the decisive third week.

This year's nine summit finishes range from mid-mountain stages to G.C.-decisive ascents. They will begin on Alto de la Mesa (stage 2), Alfacar (stage 4) and La Covatilla (stage 9).

The next series of ascents bring the peloton up the more decisive La Camperona (stage 13), Les Praeres de Nava (stage 14) and the storied Lagos de Covadonga (stage 15).

In the final week, overall contenders will face finales on the Monte Oiz/Balcon de Bizkaia (stage 17), and Naturlandia's Coll de la Rabassa (stage 19) and Coll de la Gallina (stage 20), both in Andorra.

There are also four mid-mountain stages, six flat stages and two rest days.

The race will be held a week later than 2017 in order to avoid a clash with Málaga's annual Feria. The Vuelta a España will finish in Madrid on September 16.

Chris Froome (Team Sky) is the defending champion of the Vuelta although it is unsure if he will defend his title with the Briton announcing a fifth Tour de France win is his priority for the 2018 season. 



Final 2017 Vuelta a Espana General Classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky82:30:02 
2Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida0:02:15 
3Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin0:02:51 
4Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb0:03:15 
5Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Trek-Segafredo0:03:18 
6Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky0:06:59 
7Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac0:08:27 
8Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team0:09:13 
9Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:11:18 
10Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team0:15:50 


Stage 1

8km Malaga - Malaga

Stage 2

163.9km Marbella - Caminito del Rey

Stage 3

182.5km Mijas - Alhaurín de la Torre

Stage 4

162km Vélez-Málaga - Alfacar. Sierra de la Alfaguara

Stage 5

188km Granada - Roquetas de Mar

Stage 6

153km Huércal-Overa - San Javier. Mar Menor

Stage 7

182km Puerto Lumbreras - Pozo Alcón

Stage 8

195.5km Linares - Almadén

Stage 9

195km Talavera de la Reina - La Covatilla

Rest Day 1

Stage 10

172.5km Salamanca. VIII Centenario Universidad de Salamanca - Fermoselle. Bermillo de Sayago

Stage 11

208.8km Mombuey - Ribeira Sacra. Luintra

Stage 12

177.5km Mondoñedo - Faro de Estaca de Bares. Mañón

Stage 13

175.5km Candás. Carreño - Valle de Sabero. La Camperona

Stage 14

167km Cistierna - Les Praeres. Nava

Stage 15

185.5km Ribera de Arriba - Lagos de Covadonga

Rest Day 2

Stage 16

32.7km Santillana del Mar - Torrelavega

Stage 17

166.4km Getxo - Balcón de Bizkaia

Stage 18

180.5km Ejea de los Caballeros - Lleida

Stage 19

157km Lleida - Andorra. Naturlandia

Stage 20

105.8km Andorra. Escaldes-Engordany - Coll de la Gallina. Santuario de Canolich

Stage 21

112.3km Alcorcón - Madrid
Back to top