Olds recovers from fall at Nature Valley GP to take win in Crit championship

Cliff-Ryan takes silver, Rivera takes home U/23 title

Shelley Olds (Diadora-Pasta Zara) won her second consecutive stars and stripes jersey in the criterium at the USA Cycling Elite Women National Championships held on Friday in Augusta, Georgia. She won the bunch sprint ahead of Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Colavita Forno D’Asolo) in second and Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter & Co Twenty12) in third.

“I only got to wear my jersey at Nature Valley Grand Prix this year,” Olds told Cyclingnews. “I’m really proud to wear it and it’s an honour to be in the stars and stripes jersey for anything. I’m proud to ride for the US and wear the jersey when I can.”

Her win was some-what surprising after a serious crash sent her to the hospital with a bruised back and ribs last week at the Nature Valley Grand Prix. “I was still in a lot of pain from the crash and I wanted to make it easy on myself and stay at the front,” Olds said.

Rivera won the USA Cycling Women’s Under 23 criterium jersey by virtue of placing third and being the first under 23 rider to cross the line. It was her 33rd national title.

“I’ve always won a national championship every year and I’m really honoured and proud to continue this streak and represent the stars and stripes for another year,” Rivera said to Cyclingnews.

The Elite and Under 23 combined women’s field competed on a rectangle shaped circuit that was 1.2 kms in length for a total of 50 kms. However, race organizers were forced to shorten the event, part way through, due to the serious threat of lightening and thunderstorms in the area.

“I’m sure it affected the race because we only got about half way through it,” Cliff-Ryan told Cyclingnews. “You never know how the finish would have gone if we did a full race, maybe a break would have gone, you never know.”

The field was animated during the first 30 minutes of the race, however, small breakaways were short-lived and the field was in tact with roughly 30 laps to go. At that point, race organizers and team directeurs notified the field that they race was shortened and they had only five laps to go.

“A soon as they said we had five laps to go, the weather started getting really bad and as soon as the race ended we had torrential down pour,” Olds said.

Attacks were launched in a last ditch effort to form a late-race breakaway. The field rounded the final laps in tact, however, a crash on the last lap caused some interruption in the field.

“The race was shortened and we were supposed to do a full lead-out, but everything was jumbled and crazy,” Cliff-Ryan said. “We were not able to get our lead-out in.”

“Going into the last turn, I was getting squeezed and I tried to make room for myself otherwise I would have crashed. Our bars got squeezed and one girl ended up crashing, but I’m not sure what happened.”

“I hit my brakes, unclipped and didn’t have the best run in to the finish I tried to do what I could, went earlier than I wanted and caught back up,” she said. “I was happy to be on the podium.”

According to Olds, there was no time for a lead-out and every sprinter had to try and maneuver through the field to get into position for a bunch kick. She found herself on the top five positions during the final laps. She was behind Jennifer Purcell (Danbury Audi), in third position, out of the last corner.

“I saw Theresa jump and I knew that was the most dangerous rider of the sprinters,” Olds said. “I was able to squeeze through and it was pretty much a match sprint against Theresa to the line.”

Cat 1 Women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Shelley Olds (Diadora-Pasta Zara)0:34:29 
2Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Colavita - Forno D)  
3Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12/Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY12)  
4Jennifer Purcell (Team Danbury Audi/Pedal and Pump)  
5Samantha Schneider (UCI: WPT TIBCO to The Top)  
6Tiffany Pezzulo (Team Primal Racing/Primal/MapMyRide Womens Racing)  
7Carmen Small  
8Jacquelyn Crowell (US National Team)  
9Jennifer Wheeler (UCI: WPT TIBCO to The Top)  
10Emily Thurston (Touchstone Climbing)  
11Emily Kachorek (Team Primal Racing/Primal/MapMyRide Womens Racing)  
12Mary Elizabeth Maroon (Alto Velo Racing Club/Webcor/Alto Velo)0:34:36 
13Devon Gorry (Now Cycling/NOW and Novartis for MS)0:34:38 
14Maura Kinsella (Vanderkitten)  
15Cinthia Lehner  
16Erin Silliman (Virginia Beach Velo/East Coast Bicycles/Virginia Asset Group / Tradewinds Racing)  
17Jennifer McRae (787 Racing)  
18Elizabeth Morse Hill (ZMOTION Racing Team)  
19Kaitlin Antonneau (Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12/Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY12)  
20Whitney Schultz (Veloforma/CheckMark pb Veloforma)  
21Melissa Ross (Team Kenda presented by Geargrinder)  
22Erika Graves (Now Cycling/NOW and Novartis for MS)  
23Hilary Billington (Team Danbury Audi/Pedal and Pump)0:34:45 
24Kathleen Billington (Team Danbury Audi/Pedal and Pump)  
25Alison Starnes (Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12)0:34:47 
26Shannon Koch (GG Events Management)  
27Tayler Wiles (Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12)  
28Lauren Hall (Colavita / Forno D'Asolo)  
29Jessica Prinner (ABD Cycle Club/ABD Cycling Team)  
30Kirsten Fee 0  
31Meredith Miller (UCI: WPT TIBCO to The Top)  
32Andrea Dvorak (Colavita - Forno D'Asolo)0:34:51 
33Shelby Reynolds (Sugar Cycles/Sugar Cycles Factory Racing)  
34Kristin Sanders (Colavita / Forna D'Asolo)0:35:16 
35Amy McGuire (Wheelworks Racing)0:35:26 
36Alisha Welsh (Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12/Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY12)  
37Kathryn Clark (Team Kenda presented by Geargrinder /Team Kenda)  
38Rebecca Wellons (Team Danbury Audi/Pedal and Pump)  
39Lauren Robertson (FCS/ Metro Volkswagen/FCS Cycling Team)  
40Jacqueline Kurth (Team Kenda presented by Geargrinder)0:35:33 
41Nichole Wangsgard (Team Primal Racing)0:35:36 
42Marianne Holt (Carolina Masters /PainPathways Cycling Team)0:35:54 
43Jamie Dinkins (Athens Velo Club)0:35:56 
44Kasey Clark (Team Primal Racing/Primal/MapMyRide Womens Racing)0:35:58 
DNSCheryl Fuller-Muller (Reality Bikes)  
DNSMara Abbott (Diadora-Pasta Zara)  
DNSKristin McGrath (Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12)  
DNSRachel Warner (Missing Links Coaching & Training Systems/Missing Link Training Systems / Specia)  
DNSAmy Horstmeyer (352 Racing p/b Bikes and More)  
DNSKendall Ryan (UCI: WPT TIBCO to The Top)  
DNSDebbie Milne (Absolute Racing Team/MSMOC)  
DNSKimberley Turner (Seattle Super Squadra)  
DNFAnna McLoon (Missing Links Coaching & Training Systems/Missing Link Training Systems / Specia)  
DNFMegan Guarnier (UCI: WPT TIBCO to The Top)  
DNFJudy Jenkins (Missing Links Coaching & Training Systems/Missing Link Training Systems / Specia)  
DNFAmber Pierce  
DNFJanel Holcomb (Colavita / Forno D'Asolo)  
DNFRobin Farina (Now Cycling/NOW and Novartis for MS)  
DNFJerika Hutchinson  
DNFMorgan Patton (Team Type 1)  
DNFSara Tussey (Hincapie Cycling/Hincapie/Green Creation Cycling Team)  
DNFCristina Lindsey (Greenville Spinners Bicycle Club/Headstrong)  
DNFKelly Benjamin (Colavita / Forno D'Asolo)  
DNFChristina Gokey-Smith (Now And Novartis For MS)  
DNFLauren Tamayo (Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY 12)  
DNFKatie Reynolds (Reality Bikes)  
DNFJennifer Rasmusson (Team Kenda presented by Geargrinder)  


Related Articles

Back to top