Cody Kaiser conquers Bend

Bahnson and Trujillo claim second and third

Cody Kaiser (California Giant Berry Farms) rode away from the Junior men's 17-18 field and had plenty of time to celebrate his national championship on the finishing straight. Kaiser crossed the line 47 seconds ahead of silver medalist Jeffrey Bahnson (Thule/Van Dessel) and 59 seconds in front of bronze medal winner Skyler Trujillo (Black Sheep).

"It was a good battle between Bahnson, Trujillo and myself," said Kaiser. "It was slick out there so it really came down to who made the least mistakes."

At the start of the race Trujillo grabbed the holeshot with Bahnson and Kaiser quickly grabbing his wheel. Bahnson, the 2008 15-16 national champion, put the pressure on early and built a five-second lead, but by the third lap Kaiser was able to pull away for the nearly 50-second victory.

That left Bahnson and Trujillo to battle it out for the silver going into the final turn where the Delaware native got the best of the Rocky Mountain rider. Chris Wallace (KCCX-Verge) grabbed fourth before John Burton (Joy Ride Bikes) won a sprint to the finish to grab the final podium spot.


# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Cody Kaiser (California Giant Berry Farms) 0:40:59  
2 Jeffrey Bahnson (Thule/vandessel) 0:00:47  
3 Skyler Trujillo (Black Sheep) 0:00:59  
4 Chris Wallace (Kccx/ Verge) 0:01:55  
5 John Burton (Joyride Bikes/ek Ekcessories) 0:02:00  
6 Bjorn Fox (Clif Bar Development Cross Tea)    
7 Andrew Bennett (Team Redline) 0:02:05  
8 J Fette (Hagens Berman Cycling) 0:02:12  
9 Kolby Preble (Hammer Velo) 0:02:26  
10 Matthew Spinks (Team Plan C) 0:03:04  
11 Bob Siegel (Above Category Racing) 0:03:14  
12 Jesse Keough (Clnoonan) 0:03:18  
13 Andrew Templeton ( 0:03:27  
14 Gordon Cottle (Porcupine/specialized Racing) 0:03:34  
15 William Rader (Bicycles Plus) 0:03:51  
16 Gunnar Bergey (C3athletes Serving Athletes) 0:04:17  
17 Benjamin Swedberg (Rad Racing Hb) 0:04:28  
18 Ryan Packard (Quadcycles Junior Team) 0:04:30  
19 Kosta Psaltis (Radracing Nw/hagans Berman Llc) 0:04:34  
20 Evan Renwick 0:04:38  
21 Nick Bell 0:04:53  
22 Cole Cutright (Asc Racing/redline) 0:05:03  
23 Ben Bertiger (Major Motion) 0:05:20  
24 Charles Hanlon (Guys Racing)    
25 Peter Morris 0:05:22  
26 Kendal Johnson 0:07:50  
27 Benjamin Monaghan (Byrds) 0:08:50  
One lap down
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
28 David Yamamoto    
29 Cody Tapley (Davis Bike Club)    
30 Cole Sprague    
Two laps down
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
31 Ethan Welshon (Black Sheep Junior Cycling)    
Three laps down
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
32 Taylor Stewart (Bike Trip)    
DNS Jacob Arnold (Pioneer Racing)    
DNS Gabe Watson-Norris (Radracing Nw/hagans Berman Llc)    
DNS David Kessler (Mojo Wheels)    
DNS Jeremiah Dyer (Hudz-subaru Jr-devo Team)    
DNS Callum Read (Active Knowledge)    
DNS David Rokisky (Team Cross)    

Related Articles

Back to top