Forsman earns first pro national win in short track

Five women battle until final lap

BMC Development Team racer Chloe Forsman had a break-out ride in the elite women's short track race, besting some of the premier female racers in the world, including World Cup champion Catharine Pendrel (Luna).

Once the gun went off, the women's field splintered within a few laps into select groups. The lead group contained Georgia Gould (Luna), Pendrel, Lea Davison (Specialized), Emily Batty (Subaru-Trek) and Forsman.

For the majority of the 20-minute race, each of the five riders took their turn at the front setting the pace and playing a bit of the cat and mouse that is common in short track racing.

When the bell lap came, Pendrel was the first to crack as the cross country winner lost contact with the lead group by a couple seconds.

Forsman did a brilliant job of placing herself in the front of the course's final climb. From there, she kept the other four women at bay as they all dropped down a steep shoot before heading towards the finish line.

With 100m to go, Davison perched on Forsman's back wheel and tried to come around, but Forsman proved too strong and took a well deserved victory, quickly followed by Batty and Gould.

Pendrel came in alone in fifth with some room to spare over the second chase group led by No Tubes rider Kathy Sherwin, Heather Irmiger (Subaru-Trek), Judy Freeman and Zeph Blasie.

Full Results

Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Chloe Forsman (BMC MTB Development Team US)  
2Lea Davison (Specialized)  
3Emily Batty (Subaru-Trek)  
4Georgia Gould (Luna Pro Team)  
5Catherine Pendrel (Luna Pro Team)  
6Kathy Sherwin (No Tubes Elite Womens Team)  
7Heather Irmiger (Subaru-Trek)  
8Judy Freeman (Kenda-Felt)  
9Zephanie Blasi (No Tubes Elite Womens Team)  
10Erica Zaveta (BMCMTB Development Team US)  
11Carolyn Popovic (Team CF)  
12Sarah Kaufmann (Elete Electrolytes)  
13Rebecca Beaumont  
14Amanda Sin (3 Rox Racing)  
15Kelsy Bingham (Team Jamis)  
16Kristina Laforge  
17Linnea Koons (Embrocation Cycling Journal)  
18Nina Baum (No Tubes Women Elite)  
19Shannon Gibson (No Tubes Elite Womens Team)  
20Sarah Maile (Ventana Mountain Bikes)  
21Laura Bietola  
22Krista Park (Cannondale/No Tubes)  
DNFAleksandra Mooradian  
DNFDanelle Kabush (Luna)  
Elite women Triple Crown #2 (weekend results)
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lea Davison (Specialized)4 pts
2Catharine Pendrel (Luna Pro Team)6 
3Georgia Gould6 
4Emily Batty (Subaru-Trek)7 
5Chloe Forsman (BMC MTB Development Team US)8 
6Judy Freeman (Kenda-Felt)11 
7Heather Irmiger (Subaru-Trek)13 
8Krista Park (Cannondale/No Tubes)14 
9Sarah Kaufmann (Elete Electrolytes)16 
10Zephanie Blasi (No Tubes Elite Womens Team)19 
11Kathy Sherwin (No Tubes Elite Womens Team)19 
12Amanda Sin (3 Rox Racing)22 
13Carolyn Popovic (Team Cf)25 
14Erica Zaveta (BMC MTB Development Team US)29 
15Kelsy Bingham (Team Jamis)30 
16Nina Baum (No Tubes Women Elite)36 
17Laura Bietola38 
18Kristina Laforge40 
19Rebecca Beaumont40 
20Sarah Maile (Sacramento Ca Ventana Mountain Bikes)42 
21Shannon Gibson (No Tubes Elite Womens Team)45 
22Linnea Koons (Embrocation Cycling Journal)45 
23Aleksandra Springs Mooradian120 
24Danelle Kabush (Luna)122 
Back to top