Bishop makes it two in a row

Cannondale racer comes out on top at end of tactical race

Jeremiah Bishop (Cannondale) took his second victory in as many days at the short track at Bonelli Park in California.  Max Plaxton (Specialized) was second ahead of Raphael Gagne (Rocky Mountain) in third.

In the men's race, Sid Taberlay took to the front of the large men's field. However, after not even a half lap, Taberlay went down while in the third spot on a tricky little off camber sweeper. The Aussie looked to have a broken collarbone from initial reports, but later reports said he had dislocated his shoulder.

Taberlay's crash opened the door for Plaxton, who opened up a lead.  He was chased down by Kona's Spencer Paxson.  Other chasers included Adam Craig (Rabobank/Giant), Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru-Trek), Sam Schultz (Subaru-Trek) and Bishop, among others.

Out front, Plaxton and Spencer dangled at the five-minute mark by about three seconds.

Behind Plaxton, Adam Morka (Trek Canada) took a turn at the front of the chasers.

Then at the seven minute mark, Bishop exploded from the field to go in search of Plaxton's wheel. However by the 10-minute mark, the pack had shuffled around, with Bishop back to ninth and JHK taking up the lead group chase of Plaxton.

No sooner had the race seemed to settle down than Barry Wicks (Kona) popped off the front of the group on the asphalt section and went after Plaxton. A quarter lap later, Wicks joined Plaxton at the front.

But then Bishop countered out of the chase group to bring the leaders back. But he was left with Gagne, Schultz and a few others not more than a second and a half back.

The chase groups were constantly morphing throughout the race. Under 23 rider Zach Valdez was one youngster who made an impression by making the main chase group.

Down to the last lap, Bishop made contact with Plaxton as both tried to jockey for position heading into the infield. As the riders popped out of the trees, Bishop had the lead. Gagne, Schultz and Wicks hadn't been dislodged too far and were still in the mix all the way into the final chicane before the finish line.

Stephen Ettinger, Morka, Ryan Woodall, Jeff Herrera, and 19-year-old Zach Valdez all made the top 10.

With his win, the 34-year-old Bishop cemented the men's Bonelli Triple Crown overall with a fine display of riding.  Plaxton and Taberlay were second and third overall.   With his performance this weekend, Bishop looks likely to be a serious cross country threat for the 2011 season.

Gagne put in another notable performance.  He was the sole Rocky Mountain team representative after his elder teammate Geoff Kabush left Saturday evening. The young Canadian quietly put in three podium rides on the weekend with a 5-3-4 combo, landing him fourth overall for the weekend ahead of some of the sport's bigger names.

Kabush used his short track as his throw out round, and used a six-three combo from the cross country and super D to round out the top five overall.

Schultz edged out his teammate Horgan Kobelski for sixth, while Ettinger, Wicks and Craig rounded out the top 10.  Wells wa

The Bonelli Park US Pro XCT round drew nearly 800 total racers in pro and amateur categories. 

The next Triple Crown will take place on March 26 and 27 at Fontana, California.

Full Results

Elite men short track
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jeremiah Bishop (USA)  
2Max Plaxton (Can)  
3Raphael Gagne (Can)  
4Sam Schultz (USA)  
5Barry Wicks (USA)  
6Stephen Ettinger (USA)  
7Adam Morka (USA)  
8Ryan Woodall (USA)  
9Jeff Herrera (USA)  
10Zachary Valdez (USA)  
11Kris Sneddon (Can)  
12Bryan Fawley (USA)  
13Adam Craig (USA)  
14Bryson Perry (USA)  
15Kerry Werner (USA)  
16Colin Cares (USA)  
17Aaron Bradford (USA)  
18Dana Weber (USA)  
19Peter Glassford (Can)  
20Kalan Beisel (USA)  
21Francis Morin (Can)  
22Tristan Uhl (USA)  
23Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA)  
24Zachary Keller (USA)  
25Spencer Paxson (USA)  
26Brad Bingham (USA)  
27Jack Hinkens (USA)  
28Clinton Claassen (USA)  
29Jason Siegle (USA)  
30Mitchell Peterson (USA)  
31Andy Schultz (USA)  
32Tj Woodruff (USA)  
33John Nobil (USA)  
34Cody Kaiser (USA)  
35Kevin Smallman (USA)  
36Vincent Lombardi (USA)  
37Braden Kappius (USA)  
38Kevin Kane (USA)  
39Romolo Forcino (USA)  
40Matthew Connors (USA)  
41Anthony Sinyard (USA)  
42Nicholas Weighall (USA)  
43Peter Odonnell (USA)  
44Garnet Vertican (USA)  
45Derek Hermon (USA)  
46Dean Poshard (USA)  
DNFEric Bierman (USA)  
DNFSid Taberlay (Aus)  
DNFTroy Wells (USA)  
DNFGreg Carpenter (USA)  
DNFRussell Finsterwald (USA)  
DNFNoah Holcomb (USA)  
DNFRotem Ishay (Isr)  
DNFJason Sager (USA)  
DNFGerry Cody (USA)  


Elite men Triple Crown Round #1 Final Standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jeremiah Bishop (USA) Cannondale Factory2 pts
2Max Plaxton (USA) Specialized4 
3Sid Taberlay (Aus) Kenda H20 Overdrive5 
4Raphael Gagne (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory8 
5Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain9 
6Sam Schultz (USA) Subaru-Trek12 
7Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski Subaru-Trek15 
8Stephen Ettinger (USA) BMC MTB Development16 
9Barry Wicks (USA) Kona19 
10Adam Craig (USA) Giant MTB Team22 
11Spencer Paxson (USA) Kona Factory Team22 
12Kris Sneddon (Can) Kona24 
13Jeff Herrera (USA) Bicycleworld.Tv31 
14Ryan Woodall (USA) Brick City Bicycles.31 
15Kerry Werner (USA) BMC MTB Development33 
16Rotem Ishay (Isr) Team Jamis35 
17Bryson Perry (USA) Life Time Fitness39 
18Tj Woodruff (USA) Trek Bicycles Boulder40 
19Adam Morka (USA) Trek Canada43 
20Tristan Uhl (USA) Atc Racing44 
21Kalan Beisel (USA) Yeti/SRAM46 
22Troy Wells (USA) Team Cliff Bar48 
23Colin Cares (USA) Kenda/Felt50 
24Zachary Valdez (USA) Whole Athlete-Specialized51 
25Aaron Bradford (USA) Family Cycling/Specialized52 
26Francis Morin (Can)53 
27Dana Weber (USA) Trek/Jax Bicycle World53 
28Jack Hinkens (USA) BMC MTB Development55 
29Bryan Fawley (USA) Orbea USA57 
30Clinton Claassen (USA) Team Mad Cat58 
31Vincent Lombardi (USA) Steven K Pro Team60 
32Brad Bingham (USA)60 
33Andy Schultz (USA) Kenda/Felt68 
34Kevin Smallman (USA) Incycle/Cannondale73 
35Zachary Keller (USA) Form Cycles/Griffin73 
36Jason Siegle (USA) SDG/Felt75 
37Mitchell Peterson (USA) Life Time Fitness Cycling75 
38Romolo Forcino (USA) Chains Required Bike81 
39Greg Carpenter (USA) Devo/Giant86 
40John Nobil (USA) Bear Valley Bikes88 
41Cody Kaiser (USA) Cal Giant MTB/Specialized91 
42Nicholas Weighall (USA) Cal Giant MTB/Specialized95 
43Anthony Sinyard (USA) Specialized95 
44Kevin Kane (USA) Rocky Mountain Factory96 
45Matthew Connors (USA) Bicycle Ranch101 
46Eric Bierman (USA) Steven K Sports103 
47Gerry Cody (USA) Bike Blood103 
48Rich Weis (USA) Trek109 
49Peter Odonnell (USA) GT Bicycles112 
50Peter Glassford (Can) Canada MTB Team114 
51Garnet Vertican (USA) Giant116 
52Braden Kappius (USA) Clif Bar133 
53Jordan Kahlenberg (USA) Giant Mid-Atlantic165 


Back to top