TechPowered By

More tech

September 24, Dual slalom finals:

Kintner and Ropelato win US dual slalom titles

Cycling News
September 25, 2011, 14:18 BST,
September 25, 2011, 15:29 BST

Finals for all categories run on Saturday

Jill Kintner (Transitions) rode to her first US dual slalom National Championship.

Jill Kintner (Transitions) rode to her first US dual slalom National Championship.

view thumbnail gallery

The 2011 USA Cycling Mountain Bike Gravity National Championships continued Saturday in Beech Mountain, North Carolina with the dual slalom competition. The day started overcast and foggy, but slowly cleared, leaving the racers to compete in cool temperatures under partly cloudy skies.

When the professional riders assumed center stage Saturday, Mitch Ropelato (SPS North America) and Jill Kintner (edBull-Transition Racing) topped the men's and women's podiums.

Kintner, who won the national title in the women's professional four cross in 2010, earned the stars-and-stripes jersey.

"It means a lot," Kintner said of winning the national championship. "I'm a little bit sick, but I've been feeling good riding my bike."

Ropelato had previously won the national championship in four cross in 2009.

"The fans were good," Ropelato said of the many fans who flocked to watch. "They're exciting. They kept us going real fast all day."

In the elite men's race, 18-year-old Neko Mulally (Trek World Racing) qualified ninth, but came back to place second in the race while Cody Kelley earned the bronze medal.

In the junior men's 14-and-under competition, Joseph Foresta, who won the downhill national title among the 10-and-under competitors in 2010, added a dual slalom jersey to his closet. Luca Shaw (North Carolina Cyclo-cross) topped the junior men's 15-18 podium, winning the race after qualifying with that group's best time. Thomas Wilkinson, who qualified sixth among men 19-29, rebounded to win the race. William Murray (Charlotte, N.C.) earned the top spot of the men's 30-39 podium while Andy DeVault narrowly qualified in the top spot and hung on to win the race among men 40-and-over.

After qualifying in the top spot among amateur women, 23-year-old Caroline Westray took home the stars-and-stripes jersey.

In the day's category 2/3 competition class races, Davis Nonno won the junior men 18-and-under race while Gus Michaels posted the fastest time among men 19-29. In the men's 30-39 competition, Bryan Morgan descended fastest while Kurt Dressler was the fastest among men 40-and-over.

The event will culiminate on Sunday with the national championship downhill races.

Full Results

Elite men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Mitch Ropelato (SPS North America)    
2 Neko Mulally (Trek World Racing)    
3 Cody Kelley    
4 Logan Binggeli (KHS Bicycles)    
5 Timothy Price    
6 Michael Haderer    
7 Lear Miller    
8 Kyle Thomas    
9 Philip Noto (Lees-McRae College)    
10 Fredrick Cecil Linder    
11 David Mock    
12 Daniel Caluag    
13 Kenneth (Chuck) Pitts    
DNS Ethan Quehl    
DNS Joe Haley    
Elite women
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Jill Kintner (RedBull/ Transition Racing)    
2 Darian Harvey (Vixen Racing)    
3 Jacqueline Harmony    
4 Johanne Tuttle    
5 Rebecca Gardner    
6 Soraya Khalje    
7 Katelyn Parhiala    
8 Sondra Williamson (Specialized Bicycles)    
Junior men 14 & under
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Joseph Foresta    
2 Tyler Krenek    
3 David Dressler    
4 Phillip Steele    
Cat. 1 Junior men 15-18
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Luca Shaw (North Carolina Cyclocross)    
2 Reid Dressler (Inland/Back to Dirt/Inland Construction)    
3 Christian Wright    
4 Jimmy Leslie    
5 Lain Van Ogle    
6 Logan Mulally    
7 Jay Fesperman    
8 Austin Hackett Klaube (USA Cycling MTB World Championship Team)    
9 Ben Calhoun    
10 Nikolas Dudukovich    
11 William O'Brien    
12 Richard Pedigo    
13 Paul McSparin    
14 Matthew Fitzgerald    
15 Dylan Conte    
16 Walker Shaw    
DNS Ray Syron    
DNS Matthew Branney    
Cat. 1 Men 19-29
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Thomas Wilkinson    
2 Danny Cesare    
3 Chase Hines    
4 Joshua Patton (Lindsey Wilson College)    
5 Vance Nonno    
6 Harrison Reynolds (Spin)    
7 Clayton Omer    
8 Alex Dawson    
9 Geoff Ayr    
10 Christopher Bennett    
11 Brandon Hopkins    
12 Burke Saunders    
13 Nick Gragtmans    
14 Alex Ohman    
15 Stephen Solt    
16 Andrew Ingram    
17 Craig Folsom    
Cat. 1 Men 30-39
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 William Murray    
2 Shawn Metcalf    
3 David Bethea    
4 Shawnee McGovern    
5 Gary Bethea    
6 Scott Richards    
7 Chris Kring    
8 Ryan Cleek    
Cat. 1 Men 40+
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Andy DeVault    
2 Jerry Mailloux    
3 Matthew Mills    
4 Michael Cobler (Cycletherapy)    
5 Jason Gibb    
6 Todd Plessel    
DNS Mike Suddeth    
Cat. 1/2/3/ Women
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Caroline Westray    
2 Crystal Kalogris (Lindsey Wilson College)    
3 Madison Pitts    
4 Stephanie Sowles    
5 Nicole Kendle    
6 Brooke Crum (Kreitler Racing Team)    
7 Stephanie Barragan    
8 sophia foresta    
9 Molly Friedland    
10 Olivia Harkness (Mafia Racing)    
11 Jennel Santos (Team Marty's)    
12 Eva Wilson    
Cat. 2/3 Junior men 15-18
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Davis Nonno    
2 Eric Vest    
3 Kyle Grau    
4 Kenneth Banner (Brevard College/brevard college)    
5 Toby Estes    
6 Alex Pfiffner    
7 Trey Cooke    
Cat. 2/3 Men 19-29
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Gus Michaels    
2 Sam Anderson    
3 Cory Diamond    
4 Brandon Sbordone    
5 Diego Ramirez    
6 Bradley Smith    
7 Taylor Ladd    
8 Edwin Cowan    
9 james guidry    
10 James Harnois    
11 Jimmy Awad (Paul's Racing/Specialized/Paul's Racing /Specialized Grassroots)    
DNS Trek Vandecar    
Cat. 2/3 Men 30-39
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Bryan Morgan    
2 Ryan Kramer    
3 John Shane O'Shura    
4 Reid Allred    
5 Fred Mudd    
6 David Huff    
7 John Haynes    
Cat. 2/3 Men 40+
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Kurt Dressler    
2 Doug Tate    
3 Scott Branney