Marcotte outsprints Pipp for victory at Thompson Doylestown Criterium

Bissell rider mowed down in final 50 metres

On a picture perfect day for racing, Eric Marcotte (Elbowz Racing) outsprinted Frank Pipp (Bissell Pro Cycling) to take the win at the 9th Thompson Doylestown Criterium. Alexey Shmidt (Team Type 1 Devo) held off the rest of the break to round out the podium.

For the first few circuits, the peloton stayed together and began to set a blistering pace for what would be a fast and thrilling day of racing. Nine laps in Marcotte, Pipp and Shmidt were part of a six-man break who were able to get as much as a 17-second gap on the field but were caught a few laps later. With 21 laps to go, Marsh Cooper (Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies) and Tim Mitchell (CCB Racing) attempted a two man break. The pair was only able to get a 10-second gap on the field and were reeled in only 3 laps later.

The main turning point in the day’s action took place at about the halfway point in the race. A group of 10 riders attacked and were joined only one lap later by a small chase group. It would be this group of about 15 who would stay ahead for the remainder of the race. This group included Marcotte, Pip, Shmidt, Alex Candelario (Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies), Cody O’Reilly (Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies), Tyler Wren, (Jamis/Sutter Home), Mike Chauner (Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA), Robin Carpenter (Chipolte/First Solar Devo) and Steve Fisher (Hagens Berman), Gabe Varela (Hagens Berman), Wes Klein (, Pierrick Naud ( This group was able to slowly build their lead on the rest of the peloton from 15 seconds to 24, and then to 40 seconds until they were away for good.

With eight laps to go Steve Fisher attacked and was able maintain a solo break for a few laps as he attempted to gas the field setting up his teammate Gabe Varela for the finish. Fisher was caught with six to go. With three to go a six man break of Shmidt, Fisher, Marcotte, Naud, O’Reilly and Carpenter were able to build a 13-second lead. But this group was caught with one lap to go and it would all come down to the last lap and a sprint finish. Pipp turned it on with about 100 meters to go but it may have been too soon as Marcotte, the former US Masters National Champion, was able to catch him with 50 meters and pulled past him for the victory.


# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Eric Marcotte (USA) Elbowz Racing    
2 Frank Pipp (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling Team    
3 Alexey Shmidt (Rus) Team Type 1 Devo    
4 Cody O'Reilly (USA) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies    
5 Gabe Varela (USA) Hagens Berman    
6 Robin Carpenter (USA)    
7 Tyler Wren (USA) Jamis/Sutter Home    
8 Diego Milan (Spa) Firefighters Racing p/b ADVOCAR    
9 Mike Chauner (USA) Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA    
10 Pierrick Naud (Can)    
11 Shane Kline (USA) Team SmartStop / Mountain Khaki    
12 Bruno Langlois (Can) Garneau-Quebecor    
13 Steve Fisher (USA) Hagens Berman    
14 Coulton Hartrich (USA) Firefighters Racing p/b ADVOCAR    
15 Alex Candelario (USA) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies    
16 Adam Farabaugh (USA)    
17 Clay Murfet (Aus) Team SmartStop / Mountain Khaki    
18 Mark Langlands (NZl) Garneau-Quebecor    
19 Thomas Brown (USA) Team SmartStop / Mountain Khaki    
20 Andrew Mccullough (USA) / Cannondale    
21 Zachary Bergh (USA) Astellas Oncology Cycling Team    
22 Daniel Holt (USA) Team Type 1 Devo    
23 David Fleischhauer (USA) Hagens Berman    
24 Ian Crane (USA) Hagens Berman    
25 Roman Kilun (USA) Kenda / 5-Hour Energy    
26 Tim Mitchell (USA) CCB Racing    
27 Ricky Gargiulo (USA) Champion Systems p/b Stan's NoTubes    
28 Max Korus (USA) Kenda / 5-Hour Energy    
29 Nicholas Rogers (USA)    
30 Jacob Rytlewski (USA) Astellas Oncology Cycling Team    
31 Mat Stephens (USA) Elbowz Racing    
32 Carter Jones (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling Team    
33 Andrew Seitz (USA) Team Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist    
34 Anthony Hall (USA) Champion Systems p/b Stan's NoTubesubes    
35 Neil Bezdek (USA) Team SmartStop / Mountain Khaki    
36 Paul Martin (USA) Team Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist    
37 Nick Frey (USA) Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA    
38 Ben Fredrick (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategiesrategies / Late    
39 Glen Rendall (Can) Ride with Rendall    
40 Christian Parrett (USA) Firefighters Racing p/b ADVOCAR    
41 Jackie Simes (USA) Jamis/Sutter Home    
42 Adam Carr (USA)    
43 Christopher Baldwin (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling Team    
44 Kirk Albers (USA) Team Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist    
45 Augusto Sanchez (Dom) G.S. Mengoni    
46 Rob Britton (Can) Garneau-Quebecor    
47 Andrew Bajadali (USA) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies    
48 Allan Rego (USA) Champion Systems p/b Stan's NoTubes    
49 Andrea Ciacchini (Ita) Team Type 1 Devo    
50 Zack Noonan (USA) / Cannondale    
51 Eric Workowski (USA) Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA    
52 Marsh Cooper (Can) Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies    
53 Jon Hornbeck (USA) Hagens Berman    
54 Brandon Feehery (USA) Astellas Oncology Cycling Team    
55 Brett Kielick (USA)    
56 Eugene Boronow (USA) G.S. Mengoni    
57 Anton Varabei (Can) XO Communications p/b Cisco    
58 Chris Wingfield (USA) Hagens Berman    
59 Jon D'Alba (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategiesrategies / Late    
60 Barry Miller (USA) Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA    
61 Aaron Fillion (Can) Ride with Rendall    
62 Emile Jean (Can)    
63 Paolo Cravanzola (Ita) Team Type 1 Devo    
64 Branden Russell (USA) Team Type 1 Devo    
65 Kyle Wamsley (USA) Jamis/Sutter Home    
66 Thomas Raeymaekers (Bel) Team Type 1 Devo    
67 Cesar Marte (Dom) G.S. Mengoni    
68 James Schuman (USA) Firefighters Racing p/b ADVOCAR    
Back to top