Altitude helps world records tumble in the team sprint and women's team pursuit

Germany dominates team sprints, Great Britain and Australia win team pursuit

World records tumbled and the major nations dominated the opening day of racing at the season's second track World Cup at Aguascalientes, taking advantage of the altitude of the Mexican velodrome to set super-fast times in the team pursuit and team sprint events.

Germany won both the men’s and the women’s team sprint events, confirming their current dominance in the sprinter disciplines. Great Britain’s Kian Emadi, Philip Hindes and Jason Kenny set a new world record in qualifying with a time of 42.339 but the German trio of Rene Enders, Robert Forstemann and Joachim Eilers went below 42 seconds to set a new world record time of 41.871.

Great Britain brought in Matt Crampton but couldn’t match Germany in the final, who won in a time of 42.117.

The German women matched their compatriots by also smashing the world record thanks to a great ride at altitude. Kristina Vogel and Miriam Welte set a new best time of 32.153 in qualifying and then comfortably beat Great Britain’s Becky James and Jess Varnish in the final. Russia beat China to take the bronze medal.

France had a nightmare ride in both events, with both the men’s and women’s teams disqualified for illegal changes.

Australia got revenge on their British rivals in the Men’s team pursuit, winning the event in an impressive time of 3:55.841, beating Denmark in the final. A young Great Britain team won the bronze ahead of New Zealand.

Great Britain dominated the women’s team pursuit, confirming they have mastered the new four-rider, four kilometre event. Katie Archibald replaced Laura Trott in the GB line-up and with Dani King, Joanna Rowsell and Elinor Barker the four broke the world record twice on the way to their second successive World Cup gold medal. The quartet went half a second faster than their world record in the qualifying and then went even better in the final against Canada, stopping the clock in a time of 4:16.552. Canada finished a distant second in 4:23.172, with Australian beating the USA to win the ride-off for bronze in a time of 4:22.533.

Germany took a third gold medal on day thanks to Stephanie Pohl winning the women’s points race. She gained a lap to score 20 points and then finished safely in the main group. Jasmin Glaesser of Canada was second with 13 points and Jarmila Machacova of the Czech Republic was third with 12 points. Laura Trott of Great Britain finished 11th.

Friday’s day two of racing includes women’s individual pursuit, men’s sprint, men’s omnium, women’s omnium, men’s scratch and women’s keirin events.

Men's Team Pursuit - Gold Medal Round
 Glenn O'Shea (Aus)  
 Alexander Edmondson (Aus)  
 Alexander Morgan (Aus)  
 Mitchell Mulhern (Aus)  
 Alex Rasmussen (Den)  
 Casper Von Folsach (Den)  
 Lasse Norman Hansen (Den)  
 Rasmus Christian Quaade (Den)  
Men's Team Pursuit - Bronze Medal Round
3Great Britain0:03:59.009 
 Owain Doull (GBr)  
 Steven Burke (GBr)  
 Jonathan Dibben (GBr)  
 Samuel Harrison (GBr)  
4New ZealandOvertaken 
 Dylan Kennett (NZl)  
 Pieter Bulling (NZl)  
 Aaron Gate (NZl)  
 Marc Ryan (NZl)  
Men's Team Sprint - Gold Medal Round
 Rene Enders (Ger)  
 Robert Förstemann (Ger)  
 Joachim Eilers (Ger)  
2Great  Britain0:00:43.325 
 Philip Hindes (GBr)  
 Jason Kenny (GBr)  
 Matthew Crampton (GBr)  
Men's Team Sprint - Bronze Medal Round
 Nathan Hart (Aus)  
 Shane Perkins (Aus)  
 Matthew Glaetzer (Aus)  
 Jeffrey Hoogland (Ned)  
 Hugo Haak (Ned)  
 Matthijs Buchli (Ned)  
Men's Omnium - Standings after 3 rounds
1Luke Davison (Aus) Australia16pts
2Jasper De Buyst (Bel) Belgium16 
3Raman Tsishkou (Blr) Belarus18 
4Sebastian Mora Vedri (Spa) Spain20 
5Shane Archbold (NZl) New Zealand21 
6Artyom Zakharov (Kaz) Kazakhstan22 
7Mathias Møller Nielsen (Den) Denmark22 
8Gael Suter (Swi) Switzerland26 
9Eiya Hashimoto (Jpn) Japan27 
10Thomas Boudat (Fra) France29 
11Edward Clancy (GBr) Great Britain30 
12Tim Veldt (Ned) Netherlands31 
13Ondrej Rybin (Cze) Czech Republic32 
14Simone Consonni (Ita) Italy33 
15Jacob Duehring (USA) United States38 
16Jose Alfredo Aguirre Infante (Mex) Mexico43 
17Leung Chun Wing (HKg) Hong Kong46 
18Varun Maharaj (Tri) Trinidad &Tobago49 
19Darren Matthews (Bar) Barbados58 
Women's Team Pursuit - Gold Medal Round
1Great Britain0:04:16.552 
 Katie Archibald (GBr)  
 Elinor Barker (GBr)  
 Danielle King (GBr)  
 Joanna Rowsell (GBr)  
 Gillian Carleton (Can)  
 Jasmin Glaesser (Can)  
 Laura Brown (Can)  
 Stephanie Roorda (Can)  
Women's Team Pursuit - Bronze Medal Round
 Isabella King (Aus)  
 Amy Cure (Aus)  
 Melissa Hoskins (Aus)  
 Rebecca Wisiak (Aus)  
4United States0:04:24.483 
 Sarah Hammer (USA)  
 Kimberly Geist (USA)  
 Jennifer Valente (USA)  
 Ruth Winder (USA)  
Women's Team Sprint - Gold Medal Round
 Miriam Welte (Ger)  
 Kristina Vogel (Ger)  
2Great Britain0:00:32.602 
 Jessica Varnish (GBr)  
 Rebecca Angharad James (GBr)  
Women's Team Sprint - Bronze Medal Round
 Elena Brejniva (Rus)  
 Anastasiia Voinova (Rus)  
 Lin Junhong (Chn)  
 Zhong Tianshi (Chn)  
Women's Points Race - Final
1Stephanie Pohl (Ger) Germany20pts
2Jasmin Glaesser (Can) Canada13 
3Jarmila Machacova (Cze) Czech Republic12 
4Anastasia Chulkova (Rus) Russia11 
5Wong Wan Yiu Jamie (HKg) Hong Kong9 
6Sofia Arreola Navarro (Mex) Mexico9 
7Yudelmis Dominguez Masague (Cub) Cuba8 
8Kelly Druyts (Bel) Belgium5 
9Alzbeta Pavlendova (Svk) Slovakia5 
10Julie Leth (Den) Denmark5 
11Laura Trott (GBr) Great Britain4 
12Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Italy3 
13Caroline Ryan (Irl) Ireland3 
14Amy Cure (Aus) Australia1 
15Ana Usabiaga Balerdi (Spa) Eustrak­Euskadi  
16Elizabeth Newell (USA) United States  
17Ainara El Busto Arteaga (Spa) Reyno De Navarra­Wrc­Conor  
18Leire Olaberria Dorronsoro (Spa) Spain  
19Malgorzata Wojtyra (Pol) Poland  
20Valeriya Kononenko (Ukr) Ukraine-20 
DNFErica Peralta (Arg) Argentina  
DNFPolina Pivovarova (Blr) Belarus  

Related Articles

Back to top